Skip to main content

Opposing Viewpoints: Media

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center : Critical Thinking

Featured DVD Titles

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

HCC DatabasesOpposing Viewpoints In Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

In addition to the engaging, streamlined interface and media-rich topic pages, the product's unprecedented collection of content and curriculum-focused tools that help students explore issues from all perspectives include:

  • More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays
  • 5,000+ topic overviews
  • More than 300 primary source documents
  • 300 biographies of social activists and reformers
  • More than 775 court-case overviews
  • 5 million periodical articles
  • Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs
  • Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search
  • Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs
  • A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline
Explore the Topic Page

Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains more than 700 Greenhaven Press, Gale, Macmillan Reference USA™, Charles Scribner’s Sons® and U·X·L titles. New reference content is added on an ongoing basis, and new full-text periodical and newspaper articles are added every day. Included in the resource are:

  • More than 400 titles from Greenhaven Press Series, including Opposing Viewpoints, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies and Teen Decisions
  • Fifteen proprietary Gale print sets, including Activists, Rebels, and Reformers; Civil Rights in the United States; Drugs and Controlled Substances: Information for Students; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Environmental Encyclopedia; Great American Court Cases; Tsunamis; Encyclopedia of Sociology; and Macmillan Profiles: Humanitarians and Reformers

All of the text is taken from Opposing Viewpoints In Context.

Find Media Online

Back/Top

Type your search, then click the source you wish to search.


 EducationalGeneralAnything Goes
And we do mean anything
Annenberg Media
BBC Archives
Dance in Video
Discovery Channel
Ethnographic Video Online
HCC Edutube
HCC Libraries
Hulu
PBS Video
BBC Archives
Hulu
Google
YouTube

Find Media in the Libraries (DVD and VHS)

Back/Top

Type your search, then click the source you wish to search.

In the Libraries: | VHS | DVD | VHS & DVD |
Online: | Free Streaming | HCC Only Streaming | All Streaming|

©2020 Houston Community College Libraries