Skip to main content

Opposing Viewpoints: Citation Formats

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center : Critical Thinking

Citation Formats

Back/Top

Citation Formats

The Generate a Citation page offers the following citation formats:

Citation FormatDescription
Gale citation Formats the selected citation(s) in standard Gale format
Note: These are not official bibliographic citations and are not suitable for use in a research assignment.
MLA Formats the selected citation(s) according to Modern Language Association (MLA) standards
Plain text with bibliographic tags Prepares a text-only format of the selected citation(s), with bibliographic "tags" based on the Z39.80 standard
Note: While the data elements for the dynamically generated citations have been formatted to meet the latest citation standards set forth by the respective agencies, these citations provide the available publication data for the document cited and should only serve as a guide and not as a replacement for the latest guidebooks – or those required by your instructor. Please refer to the provided MLA and APA examples for proper formatting. Consult your instructor for specific bibliographic style preferences required of your written work.

All of the text is taken from the help pages of Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center : Critical Thinking

  

MLA

 

Examples of MLA Style

Here are some examples of how to cite the materials you may find using the Modern Language Association (MLA) style.

Note: The examples shown here illustrate citations for a variety of sources, some of which may not be available for the database(s) you are currently searching.

Gale Reference Materials

"City Planning." Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History. Eds. Thomas Carson and Mary Bonk. Vol 1. Detroit: Gale Group, 1999. 168. 2 vols. Student Resource Center Gold. Gale. Wake County Public School System, Raleigh, NC. 17 Nov. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/OVRC/start.do?prodId=SRC-1>.

Lander, James F., and Patricia A. Lockridge. "The Nature and Characteristics of Tsunamis." Tsunamis. Ed. Nancy Harris. Great Disaster Series. San Diego: Greenhaven Press, 2003. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Gale. Mountain High School, Farmington, UT. 7 Dec. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/ovrc/start.do?prodId=OVRC>.

McGrath, Kimberly A., and Stacey Blachford, Eds. Gale Encyclopedia of Science. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale Group, 2001. 4140 pp. 6 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Gale. Baldwin Public Library, Birmingham, MI. 23 Aug. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/ovrc/start.do?prodId=OVRC>.

Morimoto, Bertha Kugelman. "Abacus." Computer Sciences. Ed. Roger R. Flynn. Vol. 1: Foundations: Ideas and People. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 1-2. 4 vols. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Gale. Dallas Public Library, TX. 7 Oct. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/gvrl/start.do?prodId=GVRL>.

Najemy, John M. "Republicanism." Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. Ed. Paul F. Grendler. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2000. 6 vols. Shakespeare Collection. Gale. Abraham Lincoln High School, Denver, CO. 23 Jul. 2007 <http://0-shakespeare.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/shax/start.do?prodId=SHAX>.

Magazine Articles

Thomas, Vanessa. "Listening to Solar Activity." Astronomy 32 (February 2004): 28. General OneFile. Gale. Canton Public Library, MI. 8 Sep. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/ips/start.do?prodId=ITOF>.

Journal Articles

Sherman, Leonie. "Forests Fight Back." Earth Island Journal 19.2 (2004): 12. General OneFile. Gale. Laney College Library, Oakland, CA. 31 Oct. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/itx/start.do?prodId=ITOF>.

Newspaper Articles

Flynn, K. "T-REX Project Spawns a SPUI." Rocky Mountain News 7 January 2002: A20. Custom Newspapers. Gale. College of Staten Island Library, NY 23 Aug. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/ips/start.do?prodId=SPN.SP00>.

Play

All's Well That Ends Well. 2nd Series. Ed. G. K. Hunter. London: Arden Shakespeare, 1968. 152 pp. Shakespeare Collection. Gale. Scarborough Memorial Library, Hobbs, NM. 20 Sep. 2007 <http://0-shakespeare.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/shax/start.do?prodId=SHAX>.

Learning Materials (Lesson Plans, Activities, etc.)

Biomes and Ecosystems: Lesson Plan. ClassTrac Science. Austin, TX: Publisher's Resource Group, 2006. ClassTrac Science. Gale. City High School, Pocatello, UT. 16 Oct. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/trax/start.do?prodId=TRAX>.

Circular Motion and Centripetal Acceleration: Current Events Activity: Weightlessness. ClassTrac Science. Austin, TX: Publisher's Resource Group, 2006. ClassTrac Science. Gale. St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Detroit. 16 Oct. 2007 <http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/trax/start.do?prodId=TRAX>.

  

All of the text is taken from the help pages of Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center : Critical Thinking.

 

APA

 

Examples of APA Style

Here are some examples of how to cite the materials you may find using the American Psychological Association (APA) style.

Note: The examples shown here illustrate citations for a variety of sources, some of which may not be available for the database(s) you are currently searching.

Gale Reference Materials

City planning (1999). In T. Carson & M. Bonk (Eds.), Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history, Vol. 1 (2 vols., p. 168). Detroit: Gale Group. Retrieved November 17, 2007 from Student Resource Center Gold via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/srcx/start.do?prodId=SRC-1

Freedman, B. (2004). Dinosaur. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.), Gale encyclopedia of science, Vol. 2 (3rd ed., pp. 1243-1249). Detroit: Gale. Retrieved July 26, 2007 from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/gvrl/start.do?prodId=GVRL

Lerner, K. L. & Lerner, B. W. (Eds.). (2004). Gale encyclopedia of science (3rd ed., 6 vols.). Detroit: Gale. Retrieved July 26, 2007 from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/gvrl/start.do?prodId=GVRL

McGrath, K. A. & Blachford, S. (Eds.). (2001). Gale encyclopedia of science (2nd ed., 6 vols.). Detroit: Gale Group. Retrieved August 23, 2007 from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/gvrl/start.do?prodId=GVRL

Morimoto, B. K. (2002). Abacus. In R. R. Flynn (Ed.), Computer sciences, Vol. 1: Foundations: ideas and people (pp. 1-2). New York: Macmillan Reference USA. Retrieved October 7, 2007 from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/gvrl/start.do?prodId=GVRL

Najemy, J. M. (2000). Republicanism. In P. F. Grendler (Ed.), Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. (6 vols.). New York: Charles Scribner's Sons. Retrieved July 23, 2007 from Shakespeare Collection via Gale: http://0-shakespeare.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/shax/start.do?prodId=SHAX

Magazine Articles

Thomas, V. (2004, February). Listening to solar activity. Astronomy, 32, 28. Retrieved September 8, 2007, from General OneFile via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/ips/start.do?prodId=ITOF

Journal Articles

Sherman, L. (2004, Summer). Forests fight back. Earth island journal, 19, 12. Retrieved October 31, 2007, from General OneFile via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/itx/start.do?prodId=ITOF

Newspaper Articles

Flynn, K. (2002, January 7). T-REX project spawns a SPUI. Rocky Mountain news, p. A20. Retrieved August 23, 2007, from Custom Newspapers via Gale: http://0-find.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/ips/start.do?prodId=SPN.SP00

Play

Hunter, G. K. (Ed.). (1968). All's well that ends well. 2nd Series. London: Arden Shakespeare. Retrieved September 20, 2007, from Shakespeare Collection via Gale: http://0-shakespeare.galegroup.com.librus.hccs.edu/shax/start.do?prodId=SHAX

  

 

All of the text is taken from the help pages of Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center : Critical Thinking.

©2020 Houston Community College Libraries