Libraries: Quick Reference Sources: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Biography Reference Bank
This biographical database offers in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Credo Reference
"Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos" For help see our Credo LibGuides

Encyclopedia of Life
"What is EOL? - Information and pictures of all species known to science"

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia designed to meet the research needs of elementary, middle and high school students. (Full-text)
Handbook of Texas Online
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. (Full-text)

Oxford Art Online
Signed articles covering both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more). Also includes over 30,000 links to colour images from high-quality museum and other art sites, plus over 100,000 images from The
Oxford Music Online
An extensive encyclopedia of music. (Full-text)
Natural And Alternative Treatments
Contains detailed information on more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 200 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories. (Full-text)

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic, web-based encyclopedia of philosophy. Each entry, which may be extensive, was written by an expert in the field. Entries usually include bibliographies.http://plato.stanford.edu/Reviewed: 2008
UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology
"A steadily growing resource of high quality articles on ancient Egypt, written in jargon-free language. The UEE articles are written by the world’s leading Egyptologists and are all peer reviewed before being published. They provide in-depth information, relevant illustrations, and an overview of recent literature. When an article is updated, the older version will always remain available in the archive with the same stable URL. UEE articles can, therefore, be quoted as any other scholarly publication."