Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Browse Open Access Databases: Streaming Media

Streaming Media

  • AllMusic
    "AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love. Songs and clips are available."
  • American Archive of Public Broadcasting
    "The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American people have made a huge investment in public radio and television over many decades, calculated at more than $10 billion. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations."
  • Annenberg Media
    Free streaming video series on most subjects for use by individuals or instructors.
  • Civil rights digital library
    "The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. "
  • Douglas Bump's Math Resources
    HCCS' Dr. Douglas Bump has created and compiled a collection of tutorial videos for Math 0306, Math 0308, Math 0312 and Math 1314.
  • Engineering Motion
    Websites for videos on Mechanical Engineering
  • EW.com (Entertainment Weekly)
    Large archive of news and review articles.
  • Fashion: Wikimedia Commons
    Find media on all aspects of fashion. History, textiles, individual items of clothing, designers, and many other topics can be found here.
  • figshare
    Discover research archived by institutions and by individuals. Use the search box at the top of the window to locate research on your subject.
  • Free Music Archive
    Free music, but be sure to check the open license for each clip.
  • Free Music Archive: Dance
    Clips organized by artist, album, track, and dance genre
  • Interior Design: Wikimedia Commons
    Find media on all aspects of interior design here, including interior architecture, decor, objects, and history. 18th century wallpaper, anyone?
  • IRIS (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology)
    "Founded in 1984 with support from the National Science Foundation, IRIS is a consortium of over 100 US universities dedicated to the operation of science facilities for the acquisition, management, and distribution of seismological data. IRIS programs contribute to scholarly research, education, earthquake hazard mitigation, and verification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty."
  • Materials science: Wikimedia Commons
    Hundreds of media objects related to materials science.
  • ScienceCinema
    Highlights leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy as well as the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, ScienceCinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files. Simply enter a term in the box and start exploring!
  • Skills Commons
    "Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT"
  • Web''s most extensive Mathematical resource [Wolfram Mathworld]
    "It is web''s most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world''s mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.It serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers." (LOADB)
  • WGBH Open Vault
    "... provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH."
  • Zhongguo Ren Min Zheng Zhi Xie Shang Hui Yi Quan Guo Wei Yuan Hui
    "Zhongguo Zheng Xie Wang covers the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference's daily activities and provides its working reports and documentation, including: Resolutions and Statements, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Representatives Lists, Agendas, Session Updates, Reports, Leaders' Activities, Selected Proposals and Suggestions from Representatives, News Reports, Video Reports, etc. " (LC)

Browse HCC OADB

©2022 Houston Community College Libraries