Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Browse Open Access Databases: Reports, White Papers

Reports, White Papers

  • Association of Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
    "The Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA." Also available find teaching tools and papers.
  • Astrophysics Data System
    The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.7 million records.
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
    "The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global �biodiversity commons.�
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    "The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options"
  • Center for Comparative Immigration Studies
    "The Center for Comparative Immigration Studies (CCIS) is a multidisciplinary research institute dedicated to comparative, cross-national and cross-regional research on international migration and immigration policy. "
  • Clinical Trials.gov
    "ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world."
  • Congressional Research Service Reports
    The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of issues of national policy. While many CRS memoranda are generated in response to individual Member or staff inquiries and are confidential, most CRS reports are available to anyone who has access to a congressional intranet.
  • Data.gov: Manufacturing
    "Explore data, tools, apps and research related to new technologies, facilities, and research. The U.S. Government funds research for government agencies to help empower U.S. innovation�through this page you now have access to all of that valuable research and data."
  • Data.gov: Production, Supply, and Distribution Database
    "Official USDA data on production, supply, and distribution of agricultural commodities for the United States and key producing and consuming countries. "
  • EDGAR
    "The SEC's EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company?s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors."
  • Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives
    "A multi-institutional collaborative project funded by the Mellon Foundation "to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East." Contains collection of the earliest written texts (cuneiform, hieroglyphs, and alphabets) in digitized form, archaeological site reports, a guide to "networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world" (ABZU), and a Web repository for translations of Akkadian materials (eTACT)."
  • ems.gov
    "Collecting and sharing standardized EMS data to support improvement in patient care and EMS Systems "
  • ERIC
    "The search engine was designed to use smart search technology. If you type what you are looking for without quotes or advanced Boolean logic, the most relevant results will appear as the first results."
  • figshare
    Discover research archived by institutions and by individuals. Use the search box at the top of the window to locate research on your subject.
  • Fire department operations, management and safety
    The U.S. Fire Administration (USFA) sponsors research and conducts studies to support emergency responder health and safety and help fire departments prepare for and respond to fire, natural disasters, non-fire emergencies, and other threats and vulnerabilities.
  • Flora of Australia Online
    Detailed search of the Austalian Biological Resources Study data.
  • HealthyPeople.gov: DATA2020
    "Healthy People 2020 includes over 1,200 objectives to monitor and improve the health of all Americans over the decade. The objectives are organized into 42 topic areas, each representing an important public health area. To determine the success of Healthy People, it is important to track and measure progress for the objectives over the decade. "
  • LawArXiv
    Large preprint repository. LInks to other ArXiv repositories are linked here as well.
  • NASA Technical Reports Server
    "Over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents, and over 500,000 images and videos are available in the three collections that are integrated in NTRS"
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
    "Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."
  • National Endowment for the Arts Publications
    All documents are in PDF format.
  • News and Research from the National Fire Protection Association
    "To keep you in the know, NFPA produces dozens of reports every year on the overall fire problem, firefighter fatalities and injuries, major fire causes, fire protection systems, and many other topics. We also work with organizations around the world to investigate new technologies and document the performance of fire- and building-related products." Not all resources are open access
  • PANGAEA
    "The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the hosting institutions. Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium from ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principle investigator (PI) who may be asked for access."
  • SciTech Connect
    "SciTech Connect is your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy..."
  • Skills Commons
    "Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT"
  • Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) Publications
    "Search SPLC publications, cases, Extremist Files, Intelligence Project articles, and more."
  • World Bank Open Data
    "Free and open access to global development data. This site is designed to make World Bank data easy to find, download, and use. All of the data found here can be used free of charge with minimal restrictions."
  • World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
    "File, manage or search patents, trademarks, designs and appellations of origin. Search technology, terminology and brand-related information in our free global databases. Download our other reference materials: publications, statistics, economic studies and more."
  • Zhongguo Gongchandang Xin Wen Wang
    "This website provides information abou the daily news and activities of the Communist Party of China, as well as publications and archives of the Communist Party since its establishment in 1921. Information, publications, and documents include: Party Constitutions through the years and internal files; documents from the Communist Party's National Congress since 1921; publications of legendary leaders including Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai, Liu Shaoqi, Zhu De, Ren Bishi, Deng Xiaoping, and Chen Yun; daily activities of current party elites since 1989; historical events in Party history since 1921; Who is Who in the Communist Party over the years. " (LC)
  • Zhongguo Ren Min Zheng Zhi Xie Shang Hui Yi Quan Guo Wei Yuan Hui
    "Zhongguo Zheng Xie Wang covers the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference's daily activities and provides its working reports and documentation, including: Resolutions and Statements, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Representatives Lists, Agendas, Session Updates, Reports, Leaders' Activities, Selected Proposals and Suggestions from Representatives, News Reports, Video Reports, etc. " (LC)

Browse HCC OADB

Open Access Image

Browse HCC OADB

©2020 Houston Community College Libraries