Libraries: Fashion Merchandising: Databases & Online Resources

Artstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR database. The Artstor website was officially retired on August 1, 2024, but you can still click here to search Artstor.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more. (Full-text)
Business Source Complete
Offers full text for scholarly business magazines and journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. (Some full-text)
Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. *For fashion related content, check out the Fashion in Credo LibGuide: https://library.hccs.edu/LibGuides/Credo
Learn more about searching in Credo Reference in the video below -

Technical Note - Permanent links and the links contained in the generated citations inside Credo do not function as expected when accessed from off-campus. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing "https://search.credoreference.com/" in the URL string with "https://0-search-credoreference-com.librus.hccs.edu/" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Credo article -

https://search.credoreference.com/search?q=Abnormal+psychology&concept=Q29uY2VwdDozMzMz&aid=103617
Would change to -
https://0-search-credoreference-com.librus.hccs.edu/search?q=Abnormal+psychology&concept=Q29uY2VwdDozMzMz&aid=103617
and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Europeana Collections
Explore 58,207,016 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives. Explore "Collections" for the Fashion themed Collection of items.
Flipster
Includes popular publications such as Vogue, GQ, Harper's Bazaar and more. Flip through the digital copies of the latest publications from your computer, tablet, or phone.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.
Global Road Warrior
Global Road Warrior provides comprehensive country data regarding society and culture, business etiquette; travel planning, money and banking, and international trade information. Demographic information and downloadable maps for all countries are included. Note: This database requires your W#, password and your library barcode number (starting with "27522..."). Learn to Use Global Road Warrior
HCC Fashion Archive
The Fashion Archive at Houston Community College consists of approximately 506 digitized items from a 7,000+ piece physical collection that goes back to the 1740's including historical and contemporary garments, shoes, hats, bags, and other apparel accessories. The archive includes 3 collections (Historical, Traditional Costume and Alumni) emphasizing many locally based designers and couture pieces donated by Texas socialites.
WGSN Registration
Use this link from an HCC campus to register a WGSN account. Once registered, use that account to access WGSN from anywhere. If you are unable to come to an HCC campus to set-up your account, please email contactus@wgsn.com with your full name, HCC student email, and proof of enrollment (a screenshot of your class schedule should work).
Women's Wear Daily (WWD)
Women's Wear Daily is a fashion-industry trade journal and a leading resource for the fashion industry. WWD delivers information and intelligence on changing trends and breaking news in the men and women's fashion, beauty and retail industries with a readership composed largely of retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, media executives, advertising agencies, socialites and trend makers. (Wikipedia)

National Retail Federation
"The National Retail Federation is the world’s largest retail trade association.
Every day, we passionately stand up for the people, policies and ideas that help retail thrive."
The Business of Fashion
The Business of Fashion is a trade publication resource valuable for professionals, creatives, entrepreneurs in the fashion industry. This media company offers resources for career building, business trends, and industry analysis.
We Wear Culture - Google Arts & Culture
Provide by Google Arts & Culture, We Wear Culture is a collection of over 400 stories from curators from leading costume and textile institutions from around the world.

Fashion Merchandising

Librarian

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report