Open Educational Resources (OER)

Over 2,000,000 scholarly articles available. Search or use a wheel of hierarchically-arranged subjects.

Multiple databases exist for open access articles, journals and datasets. These databases overlap, however each has different inclusion criteria, which typically include extensive vetting for journal publication practices, editorial boards and ethics statements.

"#GoOpenVA is a collaborative initiative that enables educational entities throughout Virginia to create, share, and access openly-licensed educational resources (OER, also known as open education resources). "

"AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout."

200 community college textbooks available.

InTech is a pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.

"A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material."

Virtually all MIT course content. While this university site is known for its open courses, it also includes an online textbook page with links to the textbook files used in the courses. It's especially useful for finding course materials in areas where OER is sparse: civil, electrical, environmental and mechanical engineering; material and nuclear sciences; and aeronautics and astronautics, among other subjects.

"Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 57 different sources and contains 159,459 records."

A network for teaching and learning materials, complete with resources for curriculum alignment, quality evaluation, social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing.

Rice University initiative. Free open textbooks developed and peer-reviewed by educators.

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

"Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials. Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT "

The latest publication in this pilot effort by the State University of New York libraries is Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence, which joins 14 other titles written by faculty and published by the libraries.

A web based tool that allows for the collection of digital curriculum materials, support materials, and other digital resources accessible to all faculty