Anesthesia Technology
Anesthesia technology specifically focuses on fundamental and advanced clinical procedures that assist the anesthesia provider in the safe and efficient care of patients under anesthesia. The anesthesia technologist works under the direction of an anesthesia provider as a vital member of the anesthesia care team.
The anesthesia technologist is proficient in acquiring, preparing, and applying various types of equipment required to deliver anesthesia care. Cognitive abilities involve knowledge of anatomy/physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology, and principles of anesthesia technology. Independent judgment is required for rapid response to the quickly changing circumstances in the patient care environment. The anesthesia technologist exhibits professionalism in patient and staff interactions. Anesthesia technologists may work in various clinical settings, including hospital operating rooms, interventional and diagnostic radiology, labor and delivery units, intensive care units, emergency rooms, outpatient procedure suites, and ambulatory surgery centers.
Click the links below to find books, journals, and media.
Eagle Library Search
In the News
PubMed Topics : Anesthesiology
Anesthesia Technology
Beginners Bookshelf
-
Anesthesia: a Topical Update - Thoracic, Cardiac, Neuro, ICU, and Interesting Cases
by
ISBN: 9781681087245Publication Date: 2018-01-01This book provides an updated information about major systems for anesthesia in patients with concomitant diseases. Book chapters are designed to allow anesthesia providers to refresh their knowledge, and be able to focus on the current issues in these subspecialty areas. Topics covered in this volume include: thoracic anesthesia, cardiac anesthesia, anesthesia in the ENT patient, neuroanesthesia, intensive care / ICU medicine, medical ethics, and interesting cases. -
Anesthesia Emergencies
by
ISBN: 9780199377275Publication Date: 2015-08-24Anesthesia Emergencies contains relevant step-by-step information on how to detect, manage, and treat complications and emergencies during the perioperative period. Concisely written, highlighted sections on immediate management and risk factors reinforce essential points for easy memorization, while consistent organization and checklists provide ease of learning and clarity.
Anesthesia providers will find this book an indispensable resource, describing assessment and treatment of life-threatening situations, including airway, thoracic, surgical, pediatric, and cardiovascular emergencies. -
Clinical Anesthesia Fundamentals: Print + Ebook with Multimedia
by
ISBN: 9781975113018Publication Date: 2021-10-12Clinical Anesthesia Fundamentals is a concise, highly visual resource covering the core concepts in anesthesiology. The editorial board clearly and simply present the information you need on key aspects of anesthesia for every specialty area and key organ systems. From physiology and pharmacology to anatomy and system-based anesthesia, it uses full-color graphics, easy-to-read tables, and clear, concise text to convey the essential principles of the field.
Ideal for medical students, residents, SRNAs, CRNAs, and practitioners studying for board exams--anyone who needs a quick overview of the essential elements of clinical anesthesia in an easily accessible format.
HCC Library Databases for Anesthesia Technology
-
Alt HealthWatch
Provides coverage of complementary and alternative medicine back to 1990. (Mostly full text)
-
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
-
EBSCO eBook Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Removes access barriers with hundreds of thousands of DRM-free options that can easily be read on any device.
-
Gale Health and Wellness
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and MedicineFind up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. (Some full-text)
-
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
-
Medline
Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. (Bibliographic; some links to full-text)
-
Mometrix eLibrary
If you see a Bad Gateway error from on-campus, try this alternative link to Mometrix:
* Access study materials and practice tests for over 1800 different standardized exams.
* Prepare for aptitude tests, licensing, and professional certification in a variety of fields such as military, healthcare, insurance, and more
* Improve workplace skills such as business, finance, and computer skills.
* Prepare for college and graduate school admission tests including the GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, CLEP, and SAT, as well as Advanced Placement testing.
* Improve or refresh basic skills in English, Language Arts, and Math.*****Coming soon! The HCC Libraries will soon be switching our off-campus login method for our databases and other electronic resources to OpenAthens! You can try this out by using this database resource from its new OpenAthens link. If you experience any issues with off-campus access using this new link, please contact Librarian Jennifer Stidham and let her know! If you'd like to learn more about this change, check out our OpenAthens guide!
-
ProQuest Ebook Central
Find credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources, to support every program at HCC. Be sure to click the facet for HCC-owned and subscribed items. Many chapters can be downloaded DRM-free. (Full-text)
Digital Librarian
Is this Guide Useful?
wcag2.0
06/12/2019