This guide is specifically designed for Dr. Brian Mahon's BIOL 1407 biome project.
General References
| Encyclopedia Brittanica | The online version of the standard encyclopedia, covering a wide range of topics including various biomes (Full-text) |
| Biomes and Ecosystems | This four volume reference set offers over 500 entries on biomes and ecosystems, an ecosystem usually being a subset of biomes. The first volume begins with several overviews of biomes, classified into over three dozen subtypes of the following major types: marine and oceanic, inland aquatic, deserts, forests, grassland/tundra, and anthropogenic biomes. The next three volumes explore in alphabetical order ecosystems in 300-500 word articles. Each entry describes geographic, biological, geological, and sociological characteristics for a given biome, and begins with a summary section of standard geographic and biome-type information. |
Electronic Books
| Ecology of Desert Systems | |
| Freshwater Aquatic Biomes | Freshwater Ecosystems and Aquaculture Research |
| Forest Biomes | Forests in Our Changing World : New Principles for Conservation and Management |
| Terrestrial biomes | Geographic distribution, biodiversity, and environmental threats |
| Grassland Biomes | Grasses and Grassland Ecology |
| Arctic & Alpine Biomes | Alpine Environment : Geology, Ecology, and Conservation |
Articles about Biomes
| ProQuest Research Library | A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines including biomes. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text) |
| Science & Technology collection | Provides full-text access to over 800 journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science; as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. (Some full-text) |
| Academic OneFile | Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects; Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. |
| Science in Context | Find current and accurate information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Content is searchable but is also organized by content area. |
| Biology in Credo Reference | This research guide covers topics and resources included in the HCC Library Credo Reference database |
| PhET: Biology | Interactive simulations in Biology from the University of Colorado at Boulder. |
Greenwood Guides to Biomes of the World
(These can be found on the shelf at the Central Library - Click on each title for more information)
Type the search term(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Submit button.
Or visit the full site.
Don't forget to Cite where you found your information from! Use these to help guide you in creating your citations. Remember to select the one your professor is asking you to use.
Some browers will require Adobe Digital Editions before displaying the e-book onto your screen. Click on the image below to learn more about Adobe Digital Editions.
In order to access most of our electronic resources off campus, request printed material and place books on hold, you will be required to enter your first and last name and the 14 digit library barcode number printed on the back of your HCC student ID card. For additional information about this process, click here.
©2022 Houston Community College Libraries