Earth Sciences: Books & eBooks

Earth is a stunning exploration of how our planet works, of the research into the diverse environments that support life on Earth, and of the possibility of life beyond it, with essays by experts, profiles of historically significant scientists, and case studies from present day researchers. Published to accompany the American Museum of Natural History's David S. and Ruth L. Gottesman Hall of Planet Earth, called "spectacular. . . A fun way of learning about our planet" (New York Daily News), the book takes us on a journey to the center of the earth and beyond, examining the workings of the core and mantle, plate tectonics and earthquakes, volcanoes, the oceans and climate, and how all of these processes intersect in one giant system called Earth. Written for the general reader, Earth answers five basic questions: How has Earth evolved? Why are there ocean basins, continents, and mountains? How do we read the rocks? What causes climate and climate change? Why is Earth habitable? Essays by and about leading scientists at MIT, Princeton, Harvard, and Columbia, in addition to government organizations such as NASA, Los Alamos National Laboratories, and the United States Geological Survey, let the general reader in on many of Earth's newly revealed secrets.

Read an interview with the author: "Working Toward Gender Parity in the Geosciences" The geoscience workforce has a lower proportion of women compared to the general population of the United States and compared to many other STEM fields. This volume explores issues pertaining to gender parity in the geosciences, and sheds light on some of the best practices that increase participation by women and promote parity. Volume highlights include: * Lessons learned from NSF-ADVANCE * Data on gender composition of faculty at top earth science institutions in the US * Implicit bias and gender as a social structure * Strategies for institutional change * Dual career couples * Family friendly policies * Role of mentoring * Career advancement for women * Recruiting diverse faculty * Models of institutional transformation Women in the Geosciences is a valuable contribution to the existing literature on gender issues in STEM disciplines. It focuses specifically on the geosciences, with a goal to spreading awareness on the best practices for gender parity in academic geoscience departments. Geoscientists, policymakers, educators and administrators could all greatly benefit from the contents of this volume.

this subset is a brilliant exploration of the fluids on the surface of the earth and the gases that surround us. the interaction among these is fantastically complex and intriguing. the work explores the evolution of these interactions during the earth's history, theories regarding the future of the atmosphere and oceans and specific causes and effects that are at work.

The aim of the conference is to present and discuss new methods, issues and challenges encountered in all parts of the complex process of gradual development and application of digital surface models. This process covers data capture, data generation, storage, model creation, validation, manipulation, utilization and visualization. Each stage requires suitable methods and involves issues that may substantially decrease the value of the model. Furthermore, the conference provides a platform to discuss the requirements, features and research approaches for 3D modeling, continuous field modeling and other geoscience applications. The conference covers the following topics: - LIDAR for elevation data - Radar interferometry for elevation data - Surface model creation - Surface model statistics - Surface model storage (including data formats, standardization, database) - Feature extraction - Analysis of surface models - Surface models for hydrology, meteorology, climatology - Surface models for signal spreading - Surface models for geology (structural, mining) - Surface models for environmental science - Surface models for visibility studies - Surface models for urban geography - Surface models for human geography - Uncertainty of surface models and digital terrain analysis - Surface model visual enhancement and rendering

For all introductory Earth Science courses.   Digital Content and Experiences Bring Earth Science To Life Ideal for undergraduates with little or no science background,  Foundations of Earth Science provides a student-friendly, highly visual, non-technical survey of our physical environment with balanced, up-to-date coverage of geology, oceanography, astronomy, and meteorology. Foundations of Earth Science is the brief, paperback version of the best-selling Earth Science by Lutgens and Tarbuck, and designed for introductory courses in Earth science. The new 8th Edition facilitates active learning by incorporating learning objectives throughout each chapter to provide students with a structured learning path. The learning path is tied to chapter objectives, giving students opportunities to demonstrate their understanding at the end of each section.   The 8th Edition uses the BouncePages image recognition app (available at no charge on both iOS and Android stores) to connect students' digital devices to the print textbook, enhancing their reading and learning experience. Lutgens/Tarbuck's innovative SmartFigures feature has been expanded, adding new digital content via Project Condor, Mobile Field Trips by Michael Collier, Animated Figures, and additional tutorial videos from Callan Bentley. This edition also includes Mastering Geology, the most complete, easy-to-use, engaging tutorial and assessment tool available.   Also Available with Mastering Geology Mastering(tm) Geology is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Interactive, self-paced tutorials provide individualized coaching to help students stay on track. With a wide range of activities available, students can actively learn, understand, and retain even the most difficult concepts. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Geology does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Geology, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and Mastering Geology, search for: 0134127641/ 9780134127644 Foundations of Earth Science Plus Mastering Geology with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134184815 / 9780134184814 Foundations of Earth Science 0134251881 / 9780134251882 Mastering Geology with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Foundations of Earth Science Foundations of Earth Science , 8th  Edition is also available via Pearson eText, a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students - right in their eTextbook. Learn more.        

this subset explores the land masses and seas of the world. It describes mountain ranges, the oceans, continental movement, and a wide variety of features that have influenced life on earth. Detailed explorations of the evolution of dinosaurs, fish, birds, plant life and humans, as they were influenced by the earth's surface, fill this set. Fantastic disruptions, from Mount St. helens to the ice ages are woven into the story of how the earth influences everything.

Image Analysis in Earth Sciences is a graduate level textbook for researchers and students interested in the quantitative microstructure and texture analysis of earth materials. Methods of analysis and applications are introduced using carefully worked examples. The input images are typically derived from earth materials, acquired at a wide range of scales, through digital photography, light and electron microscopy. The book focuses on image acquisition, pre- and post-processing, on the extraction of objects (segmentation), the analysis of volumes and grain size distributions, on shape fabric analysis (particle and surface fabrics) and the analysis of the frequency domain (FFT and ACF). The last chapters are dedicated to the analysis of crystallographic fabrics and orientation imaging. Throughout the book the free software Image SXM is used.

Man's intensifying use of the Earth's habitat has led to an urgent need for scientifically advanced 'geo-prediction systems' that accurately locate subsurface resources and forecast the timing and magnitude of earthquakes, volcanic eruptions and land subsidence. As advances in the earth sciences lead to process-oriented ways of modeling the complex processes in the solid Earth, the papers in this volume provide a survey of some recent developments at the leading edge of this highly technical discipline. The chapters cover current research in predicting the future behavior of geologic systems as well as the mapping of geologic patterns that exist now in the subsurface as frozen evidence of the past. Both techniques are highly relevant to humanity's need for resources such as water, and will also help us control environmental degradation. The book also discusses advances made in seismological methods to obtain information on the 3D structure of the mantle and the lithosphere, and in the quantitative understanding of lithospheric scale processes. It covers recent breakthroughs in 3D seismic imaging that have enhanced the spatial resolution of these structural processes, and the move towards 4D imaging that measures these processes over time. The new frontier in modern Earth sciences described in this book has major implications for oceanographic and atmospheric sciences and our understanding of climate variability. It brings readers right up to date with the research in this vital field.

A range of natural earth materials, like arsenic or fluoride, have long been linked to significant human health effects. Improved understanding of the pervasive and complex interactions between earth materials and human health will require creative collaborations between earth scientists and public health professionals. At the request of the National Science Foundation, U.S. Geological Survey, and National Aeronautics and Space Administration, this National Research Council book assesses the current state of knowledge at the interface between the earth sciences and public health disciplines. The book identifies high-priority areas for collaborative research, including understanding the transport and bioavailability of potentially hazardous earth materials, using risk-based scenarios to mitigate the public health effects of natural hazards under current and future climate regimes, and understanding the health risks that result from disturbance of earth systems. Geospatial information - geological maps for earth scientists and epidemiological data for public health professionals - is identified as one of the essential integrative tools that is fundamental to the activities of both communities. The book also calls for increased data sharing between agencies to promote interdisciplinary research without compromising privacy.