Libraries: Using eBooks @ HCC: HCC eBook Platforms

Search for eBooks

Search for HCC Library E-Books

Over 200,000 e-books available!

Open Access eBooks

American Mathematical Society Books Online
A small collection of free ebooks on mathematics history.
Directory of Open Access Books
Large collection of open access books, made available by academic publishers such as Springer and Brill.
Early English Books Online Collections
These ebook collections consist of over 125,000 titles that trace the history of English thought from the first book printed in English in 1475 through to 1700 and include works of literature, philosophy, politics, religion, geography, history, politics, mathematics, music, the practical arts, natural science, and all other areas of human endeavor. The assembled collection is a mainstay for understanding the development of Western culture in general and the Anglo-American world in particular. Authors whose works are included: Erasmus, Shakespeare, King James I, Marlowe, Galileo, Caxton, Chaucer, Malory, Boyle, Newton, Locke, More, Milton, Spenser, Bacon, Donne, Hobbes, Purcell, Behn, and Defoe.
Europeana Collections
"Explore 58,207,016 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives."
Great Books and Classics
Classics
Hathi Trust
Search over 5 million digitized titles.
Making of America
10,000 books and 50,000 articles on American social history
National Endowment for the Arts Publications
All documents are in PDF format.
Online Books Page
Indexes over 30,000 ebooks available for personal use
Project Gutenberg
Thousands of free ebooks from the original ebook project.
Wikibooks
Free textbook library.

HCC LIcensed Content

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
The majority of the resources are provided in Spanish. "...draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960."

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of fashion content collections of e-books, reference works, images, and more, including the Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books Library, Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases, Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive, Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive, Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library, and the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online. (Full-text)
Ebrary/e-Libro
Large collection of academic eBooks in Spanish. Learn to Use e-Libro, ebrary and ProQuest eBook Central
EBSCO eBook Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Removes access barriers with hundreds of thousands of DRM-free options that can easily be read on any device.

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Watch a Video Tutorial or view the EBSCO eBook Guide.
Job and Career Accelerator
LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator gives job seekers the tools they need to explore careers, find open positions, apply for jobs and get hired. Create your personal account to get started.
Mometrix eLibrary
If you see a Bad Gateway error from on-campus, try this link: https://portal.mometrixelibrary.com/

* Access study materials and practice tests for over 1800 different standardized exams.
* Prepare for aptitude tests, licensing, and professional certification in a variety of fields such as military, healthcare, insurance, and more
* Improve workplace skills such as business, finance, and computer skills.
* Prepare for college and graduate school admission tests including the GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, CLEP, and SAT, as well as Advanced Placement testing.
* Improve or refresh basic skills in English, Language Arts, and Math.
Learn to Use Mometrix eLibrary
Nursing Reference Center Plus
"Master nursing best practices with the premier source for evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses. Unmatched in scope, nurses use Nursing Reference Center Plus to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more."

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Learn more about Nursing Reference Center Plus with the helpful video below -
Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC)
Over 10,000 articles from leading reference works by experts in the field of African American Studies, plus over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, nearly 150 maps, and 150 charts and tables. (Full-text)
Oxford Art Online
Signed articles covering both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more). Also includes over 30,000 links to colour images from high-quality museum and other art sites, plus over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
View the video below to learn more about searching Oxford Art Online -
Oxford Music Online
An extensive encyclopedia of music, featuring over 51,000 articles from Bach to Beyonce, and continual updates, reviews and contributions from over 9,000 scholars around the globe. (Full-text)
Learn more about searching Oxford Music Online with the video below -
ProQuest Ebook Central
Find credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources, to support every program at HCC. Be sure to click the facet for HCC-owned and subscribed items. Many chapters can be downloaded DRM-free. Learn to Use e-Libro, ebrary and ProQuest eBook Central
Learn more about searching for ebooks in the video below -
Salem History
Selected sets from Salem Press.
Salem Literature
Selected authors and works from the Critical Insights series.
Science & Technology eBook Subscription
The Science and Technology Ebook Subscription offers more than 28,000 carefully curated ebooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math. It is designed to facilitate the research workflow and outcomes for your library and its users. The Subscription included renowned publishers such as Wiley, Island Press, World Scientific Press, University of North Carolina Press, Elsevier Science, Rutgers University Press, and Temple University Press.
SpringerLink & Springer Nature eBooks
E-books on every scientific discipline with some arts and humanities. Option to purchase your own discounted bound copy available. (This site is a bit slow on older browsers.) Learn to Use Springer Nature eBooks

Using eBooks @ HCC: HCC eBook Platforms

Search for eBooks

Open Access eBooks

HCC LIcensed Content

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report