Nursing: Nursing Websites

The mission of the Perinatal Institute is to improve the health of newborns through innovation in clinical care, research and education.

Information about sick newborns for professionals and families.

Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the Information Rx program provides free information prescription pads and materials for physicians, librarians, and other health care professionals. An information prescription can be helpful for patients or caregivers who want more information, but need to know the which web site to use or what to ask at the library.

This consumer education campaign from the AHRQ may be worthwhile to recommend to your patients. The site helps patients learn how to ask the right questions when they visit with a health professional so they can make better health care decisions and receive better care. The site includes an interactive question builder tool that patients can take with them to their next appointment.

My Quality Improvement (MyQI)
The goal is to deliver safe, high-quality health care to patients in all clinical settings. You can use the information in this guide to improve quality of care across settings and at multiple levels.

In a recent survey of adults age 50+, two out of three reported using some form of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), yet only one in three discussed it with their health care providers. NCCAM created Time to Talk to open a dialogue between patients and providers about the use of herbs, supplements, and other CAM therapies. Fact sheets and resources can help patients think about the issues to consider and questions to ask.

The Patient and Family Education Services department at the University of Washington Medical Center developed an excellent resource for clinicians, the Culture Clues tip sheets. The sheets are designed to increase awareness about cultural beliefs and preferences for specific patient populations who are deaf and hard of hearing: Albanian, Latino, Russian, Somali and several Asian groups. A limited amount of additional information is available for end-of-life cultural beliefs.

Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the Information Rx program provides free information prescription pads and materials for physicians, librarians, and other health care professionals. An information prescription can be helpful for patients or caregivers who want more information, but need to know the which web site to use or what to ask at the library.

This consumer education campaign from the AHRQ may be worthwhile to recommend to your patients. The site helps patients learn how to ask the right questions when they visit with a health professional so they can make better health care decisions and receive better care. The site includes an interactive question builder tool that patients can take with them to their next appointment.

My Quality Improvement (MyQI)
The goal is to deliver safe, high-quality health care to patients in all clinical settings. You can use the information in this guide to improve quality of care across settings and at multiple levels.

In a recent survey of adults age 50+, two out of three reported using some form of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), yet only one in three discussed it with their health care providers. NCCAM created Time to Talk to open a dialogue between patients and providers about the use of herbs, supplements, and other CAM therapies. Fact sheets and resources can help patients think about the issues to consider and questions to ask.

The Patient and Family Education Services department at the University of Washington Medical Center developed an excellent resource for clinicians, the Culture Clues tip sheets. The sheets are designed to increase awareness about cultural beliefs and preferences for specific patient populations who are deaf and hard of hearing: Albanian, Latino, Russian, Somali and several Asian groups. A limited amount of additional information is available for end-of-life cultural beliefs.

Check here for details about Houston Community College's nursing programs.

Johnson & Johnson's website for nursing career exploration.

The career and education resource for minority nursing professionals, students, and faculty.

NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research on health issues across the lifespan.

Created by nurses for nurses. Access to free e-newsletters to help keep you up to date in your areas of interest. Numerous free resources and features.

Sigma Theta Tau International's mission is to support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide

The nation's medical research agency.

a collection of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines compiled by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Provides U.S. public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality.

provides free, up-to-date, and user-friendly health data on all 50 states.

From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for AHRQ, this well-designed toolkit can be used in sections or as a medical practice assessment and improvement plan. The entire document is 226 pages, but the online version breaks out individual sections. The toolkit provides step-by-step guidance and tools for assessing a practice and making changes to improve communications with patients of all literacy levels.

Extensive resources to help health care providers improve communication with their patients.

This 2007 Joint Commission report is the culmination of a roundtable discussion addressing health literacy. Believing that many people play a role in improving health literacy, the roundtable discussion offers methods for tackling the underlying problems of health literacy, the impact of low health literacy and patient safety, and the current state of health care communication.

Information and tools to improve communication with patients, from the Health Resources and Services Administration.

The American Medical Association Foundation created this educational kit to inform physicians, health care professionals, and patient advocates about health literacy. The kit can be ordered, and the materials are also available for downloading and viewing direct from the web site. The health literacy kit includes an instructional video on DVD and CD-ROM (also available on VHS), an in-depth manual for clinicians, and additional resources for education and involvement.

This 2007 Joint Commission report is the culmination of a roundtable discussion addressing health literacy. Believing that many people play a role in improving health literacy, the roundtable discussion offers methods for tackling the underlying problems of health literacy, the impact of low health literacy and patient safety, and the current state of health care communication.

From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for AHRQ, this well-designed toolkit can be used in sections or as a medical practice assessment and improvement plan. The entire document is 226 pages, but the online version breaks out individual sections. The toolkit provides step-by-step guidance and tools for assessing a practice and making changes to improve communications with patients of all literacy levels.

From the organization of the same name, Health 2.0 is a concept with more than one definition. The organization, Health 2.0 LLC, sponsors conferences and provides information, webinars, and presentations, and other related content on its web site. This page provides a look at the various definitions of Health 2.0, which all relate to the sharing of user-generated content for health information, at least to some degree.

In partnership with the California Healthcare Foundation (CHCF), this report from the Pew Internet & American Life Project is an in-depth look at how adults use social media and the Internet for health information and health care. Knowing about trends in health information seeking and sharing behaviors by consumers will help libraries consider how to provide consumer health services for these users.

This report from the CHCF describes in detail how the online sharing of health information is changing the way patients are finding and using information about health issues and therapies. It also reports on the benefits and problem areas, trends, and the “power of collective wisdom.”