Heavy Vehicle & Truck Repair: TexShare

"TexShare is a statewide resource sharing program designed to improve library service to Texans. The TexShare Consortium includes public libraries, colleges and universities, and libraries of clinical medicine. TexShare is administered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC).

The TexShare Databases Program allows consortium members to provide high-quality electronic resources licensed by TSLAC for use by their patrons, students, faculty, and staff. All TexShare electronic resources are competitively bid and meet Texas security, privacy, and accessibility requirements.

TexShare electronic resources include full-text journals and magazines, newspapers, ebooks, learning materials, genealogy resources, and much more. For more information about TexShare electronic resources and the TexShare Consortium, see our Facts at a Glance page." [Source]

TexShare Databases can be used by public library patrons, which means HCC students can have access to these resources through their local libraries after they're no longer HCC students. Their databases include GALE's Chilton Library database, the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

A TexShare card allows you to borrow materials from participating libraries across Texas. Visitors who would like to borrow HCC items using a TexShare card need to obtain the card from their home library before visiting an HCC library. Every library has different policies for issuing TexShare cards and for lending to TexShare cardholders, so check with the individual library.

• HCC TexShare Policies:
  • TexShare cardholders can borrow 2 books for 14 days and are allowed 1 renewal.
  • You must be a current HCC student, faculty, and staff member with a current patron record and library barcode in order to participate in the TexShare Card Program. An HCC Student, Faculty, or Staff ID card is required in order to request and use a TexShare card.
• Use Find-A-Library to find TexShare libraries.
• Find out more in the TexShare Card FAQ.
• Use the Request a TexShare Card form to request a card.
• Please fill in the form completely. Fields marked with a * are required.
• Please allow 8 business days to receive your TexShare Card via mail. The card will be mailed to the address provides when completing the form. If you do not receive a card within 2 weeks, please contact Raul Martinez at 713-718-6153 or raul.martinez@hccs.edu
• All student TexShare cards expire on the last day of the semester. All faculty and staff TexShare cards expire one year after they are issued. TexShare cards don't renew, so a new form will need to be submitted each year.