Databases
Databases allow you to access articles and other resources from many journals and publications at the same time. Unlike a Google search, it connects you directly to what your library has, and has a better chance of relevancy. It also allows you to filter your results to help you find what you need. In addition to peer-reviewed journals and articles, databases have many useful resources, like newspaper articles, topic reviews, videos, ebooks, and much more.
Remember: databases have more resources than peer-reviewed articles, so just because you get something from a database doesn't necessarily mean it's peer-reviewed. If your professor asks for peer-reviewed sources, always check!
Evaluating Media
HCC offers more than articles in databases. There's also streaming video, images, and other materials, not to mention what you may find in your own searches. Here are steps on evaluating media sources.
Searching for Peer-Reviewed Articles on Acacdemic Search Complete and Other EBSCO databases
Databases @HCC
-
Gale Academic OneFile
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
-
Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, astronomy, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, science, geography, law, mathematics, music, health sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields.
-
JSTOR
Includes articles from hundreds of scholarly research journals covering a wide range of academic fields. Coverage is always from volume 1, issue 1, but usually does not include the most recent three years. (Full-text)
-
Science & Technology Collection
Provides full-text access to over 800 journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science; as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. (Some full-text)
-
ProQuest Research Library
A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text). Learn to Use ProQuest Research Library
