Databases/Articles - Zoology - Life on Earth - Libraries at Houston Community College

HCC Libraries' Zoology and Science Databases

AgEcon Search
"AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including: Working papers, Conference papers, and Journal articles."
AGRICOLA
Search 2.5 million records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. (Some full-text)

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
BioMed Central
Open access to content is available immediately upon publication from over 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Leading research journals here include selective titles such as BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Genome Biology, Genome Medicine and BMC Global and Public Health, academic journals such as Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series, 53 inclusive journals focused on the needs of individual research communities.
Browse article collections by subject through the links below -
Biomedicine
Chemistry
Computer Science
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Dentistry
Earth Sciences
Education
Energy
Engineering
Environment
Life Sciences
Materials Science
Mathematics
Medicine & Public Health
Philosophy
Psychology
Social Sciences
Gale In Context: Science
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
Gale Interactive Science
Users can manipulate and explore 3D interactive models, allowing students to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth and space science. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.
Gale OneFile: Science
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
National Science Digital Library
"The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplinesboth formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings."
PubChem
PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.
Science.gov
Provides links to a wide variety of scientific resource materials, indexes, and statistics produced by U.S. departments, agencies, and related institutes and labs.
Science And Technology Collection
Provides full-text access to over 800 journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science; as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. (Some full-text)

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Science Online
Online access to Science Magazine. Subscription includes Science, 1997- and Science Now. Table of contents information is available for the other AAAS journals.
SciTech Collection Premium
Resources for the natural sciences, technology, material science, and engineering. For help: SciTech Collection Premuim LibGuide

HCC Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, astronomy, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, science, geography, law, mathematics, music, health sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Learn to Use Academic Search Complete

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Alexander Street 360VR Video
VR (virtual reality) videos to support the HCC curriculum. These 360 - degree immersive or spherical videos were shot using omni-directional camera technology. During playback on flat displays, such as tablets and laptops, the viewer can pan and control the viewing direction like a panorama. Stereoscope-style viewers for smartphones (such as Google Cardboard and Samsung Gear VR) can be used to view these videos in an immersive format.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
JSTOR
Includes articles from hundreds of scholarly research journals covering a wide range of academic fields. Coverage is always from volume 1, issue 1, but usually does not include the most recent three years. (Full-text) Tutorials

The ArtStor collection has permanently become integrated with JSTOR and no longer requires a separate link as of 8/1/2024.
Learn more about searching in JSTOR with the video playlist below -
Project Muse
This multi-purpose database offers the full text of over 300 scholarly journals covering the humanities, arts, and social sciences. (Full-text) How to Search / How to Cite.
ProQuest Research Library
A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text). Learn to Use ProQuest Research Library
Learn the basics of searching in ProQuest databases with the video below -

Need to learn more about ProQuest's advanced features? Try the video below -
SIRS Issues Researcher
A suite of databases providing access to periodical articles, reference materials, pictures, government documents, and selected Internet sites, related to a wide range of topics. (Full-text) Learn to Use SIRS Issues Researcher

Not working from on-campus? Click here
Learn more about searching SIRS Issues Researcher with the below video -

Zoology - Life on Earth: Databases/Articles

HCC Libraries' Zoology and Science Databases

HCC Multidisciplinary Databases

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report