Sample eBooks
Global Logistics and Supply Chain Management by ISBN: 9781119702993Publication Date: 2020-12-07Global Logistics and Supply Chain Management is a comprehensive, fully up-to-date introduction to the subject. Addressing both practical and strategic perspectives, this revised and updated fourth edition offers readers a balanced and integrated presentation of Logistics and Supply Chain Management (LSCM)concepts, practices, technologies, and applications. Contributions from experts in specific areas of LSCM provide readers with real-world insights on supply chain relationships, transport security, inventory management, supply chain designs, the challenges inherent to globalization and international trade, and more. The text examines how information, materials, products, and services flow across the public and private sectors and around the world. Detailed case studies highlight LSCM practices and strategies in a wide range of contexts, from humanitarian aid and pharmaceutical supply chains to semi-automated distribution centers and port and air cargo logistics. Examples of LSCM in global corporations such as Dell Computer and Jaguar Land Rover highlight the role of new and emerging technologies. This edition features new and expanded discussion of contemporary topics including sustainability, supply chain vulnerability, and reverse logistics, and places greater emphasis on operations management.
Handbook of Ocean Container Transport Logistics by Call Number: HD30.23 eBookISBN: 9783319118918Publication Date: 2014-12-13This book is focused on the impact of ocean transport logistics on global supply chains. It is the first book solely dedicated to the topic, linking the interaction of parties along this chain, including shippers, terminal operators and line carriers. While ocean container transport logistics has been greatly studied, there are many important issues that have yet to receive the attention they deserve. The editors and contributing authors of Ocean Container Transport Logistics: Making Global Supply Chain Effective seek to address these topics and shed new light on the subject. The book is divided into three parts.
Logistics Management by ISBN: 9783319208626Publication Date: 2015-08-19This contributed volume contains the selected and thoroughly reviewed research papers presented at the conference on logistics management LM2015 in Braunschweig, Germany. The conference of the special interest group in logistics of the German Academic Association for Business Research (VHB) was held in conjunction with the special interest group on production of the VHB. Thus, the papers reflect the current state-of-the-art in logistics and supply chain management while focusing especially on aspects of production logistics, i.e., facility layout, inventory management, line configuration, or flexible production.
Military Logistics by Call Number: HD30.23 eBookISBN: 9783319120751Publication Date: 2014-11-25This book highlights recent advances in the development of effective modeling and solution approaches to enhance the performance of military logistics. It seeks to further research in global defense-related topics, including military operations, governmental operations and security, as well as nation support. Additionally its purpose is to promote the global exchange of information and ideas amongst developers and users of military operations research tools and techniques.
The Rule of Logistics by ISBN: 9780816693313Publication Date: 2016-08-26Every time you wheel a shopping cart through one of Walmart's more than 10,000 stores worldwide, or swipe your credit card or purchase something online, you enter a mind-boggling logistical regime. Even if you've never shopped at Walmart, its logistics have probably affected your life. The Rule of Logistics makes sense of its spatial and architectural ramifications by analyzing the stores, distribution centers, databases, and inventory practices of the world's largest corporation. The Rule of Logistics tells the story of Walmart's buildings in the context of the corporation's entire operation, itself characterized by an obsession with logistics. Beginning with the company's founding in 1962, Jesse LeCavalier reveals how logistics--as a branch of knowledge, an area of work, and a collection of processes--takes shape and changes our built environment. Weaving together archival material with original drawings, LeCavalier shows how a diverse array of ideas, people, and things--military theory and chewing gum, Howard Dean and satellite networks, Hudson River School painters and real estate software, to name a few--are all connected through Walmart's logistical operations and in turn are transforming how its buildings are conceptualized, located, built, and inhabited. A major new contribution to architectural history and theory, The Rule of Logistics helps us understand how retailing today is changing our bodies, brains, buildings, and cities and predicts what future forms architecture might take when shaped by systems that exceed its current capacities.
U.S. Department of Transportation
Eagle Library Search
Databases on Logistics
- Gale Business: InsightsDetailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
- Business Source Complete
Offers full text for scholarly business magazines and journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. (Some full-text)
- EBSCO eBook Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Removes access barriers with hundreds of thousands of DRM-free options that can easily be read on any device.
- Gale OneFile: BusinessUnderstand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.
- Houston Data: Data, Insight, and Analysis
This website from the Greater Houston Partnership gathers monthly statistical updates, focused reports, and sector data related to life and business in Houston.
- MasterFILE Complete & MasterFILE Premier Reference eBook Collection
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference ebooks and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
- ProQuest Ebook Central
Find credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources, to support every program at HCC. Be sure to click the facet for HCC-owned and subscribed items. Many chapters can be downloaded DRM-free. (Full-text)
- Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of several hundred business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. (Full-text)
- SpringerLink & Springer Nature eBooks
Hundreds of thousands of ebooks, ejournals, and other materials on every scientific discipline with some arts and humanities. (Some full-text)
- Vocational and Career Collection
Provides the contents of more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals. (Some full-text)
