Fast Facts: Long-Chain Fatty Acid Oxidation Disorders by
Disorders affecting the oxidation of long-chain fatty acids are complex, potentially life-threatening, metabolic conditions.
Fast Facts: Long-Chain Fatty Acid Oxidation Disorders for Patients by
Long-chain fatty acid oxidation disorders (LC-FAODs) are rare, inherited conditions. With an LC-FAOD, the body has trouble breaking down fat for energy, which can lead to symptoms such as low blood sugars, muscle pain/weakness, and heart problems. LC-FAODs are diagnosed by newborn screening or symptoms later in life. Management includes a specialized nutrition plan, and prevention of fasting, especially during illness. A person with an LC-FAOD can live a full, active and healthy life with lifestyle changes and close coordination with, and support from, an expert healthcare team. Table of Contents: * Fats and fatty acids * Fatty acids for energy * Long-chain fatty acid oxidation disorders * Diagnosis * Genetic testing * Living with an LC-FAOD * Monitoring * What can I do to help my child? * Genetic counseling * How many people are affected? * Who's who?
Enzymes Involved in Glycolysis, Fatty Acid and Amino Acid Biosynthesis: Active Site Mechanisms and Inhibition by
Multidisciplinary research involving crystallography, kinetic studies, molecular docking, genetics and other techniques in biochemistry has yielded a wealth of knowledge about the reaction mechanisms in cellular processes. This knowledge has allowed researchers to understand, in a better way, the normal functioning of the cell process, which is used as a reference point for learning about and preventing or correcting pathologies that cause diseases.This enzymology reference is a thorough compendium about reaction mechanisms occurring between the major enzymes related to the biosynthetic pathways of 3 important types of biological compounds - 6-carbon carbohydrates, fatty acids and amino acids - and their substrates, cofactors and residues. Readers will gain an understanding of the interaction between substrates or ligands with specific amino acid residues in biosynthetic enzymes. This understanding builds a foundation for learning about the biochemistry of different inhibitors used in the treatment of several diseases such as cancer, infectious diseases, and metabolic syndrome alterations such as diabetes and obesity.Enzymes covered in the book include aldolases, isomerases, kinases, mutases, synthases, dehydrogenases, reductases, transferases, hydrolases, lyases among others, all of which are wide spread in biochemical transformations. This reference, with its insights on common biochemical enzymes serves as a handy guide for students, researchers and professionals involved academia or industry related to pharmaceutical development, healthcare, food chemistry and other disciplines.
Chemistry for Breakfast by
FINALIST for the Subaru Prize for Excellence in Science Books * "This book shows that chemistry is not just relevant to life; it's really, really interesting."--Foreword Reviews, STARRED review A perfect book for readers of The Physics of Everyday Things and Storm in a Teacup Have you ever wondered why your alarm clock sends you spiraling? Or how toothpaste works on your teeth? Why do cakes and cookies sometimes turn out dry? (Hint: you may not be adding enough sugar.) In Chemistry for Breakfast, award-winning chemist and science communicator Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim reveals the amazing chemistry behind everyday things (like baking and toothpaste) and not-so-everyday things (like space travel). With a relatable, funny, and conversational style, she explains essential chemical processes everyone should know--and turns the ordinary into extraordinary. Over the course of a single day, Mai shows us that chemistry is everywhere: we just have to look for it. In the morning, her partner's much-too-loud alarm prompts a deep dive into biological clocks, fight-or-flight responses, and melatonin's role in making us sleepy. Before heading to the lab, she explains how the stress hormone cortisol helps wake us up, and brews her morning coffee with a side of heat conduction and states of matter. Mai continues her day with explainers of cell phone technology, food preservation, body odor, baking, the effects of alcohol, and the chemistry behind the expression "love drunk." All the while, she shows us what it's really like to be a working chemist, and fights against the stereotype of a nerd playing with test tubes in a lab coat. Filled with charming illustrations, laughter, and plenty of surprises, Chemistry for Breakfast is a perfect book for anyone who wants to deepen their understanding of chemistry without having prior knowledge of the science. With Mai as your guide, you'll find something fascinating everywhere around you.
Herbal Drugs and Fingerprints by
Evidence based herbal drugs are on hi-acceptance day by day due to health friendly nature compared to synthetic drugs. The active ingredients in herbal drugs are different chemical classes, e.g. alkaloids, coumarins, flavonoids, glycosides, phenols, steroids, terpenes etc., are identified at molecular level using current analytical practices, which are unique characteristic, as finger, so known as fingerprints. The fingerprints are used for assessment of quality consistency and stability by visible observation and comparison of the standardized fingerprint pattern, have scientific potential to decipher the claims made on these drugs for authenticity and reliability of chemical constituents, with total traceability, which starts from the proper identification, season and area of collection, storage, their processing, stability during processing, and rationalizing the combinational in case of polyherbal drugs. These quality oriented documents have ample scientific logics so well accepted globally by regulatory authorities and industries, to determine intentional/ unintentional contamination, adulteration, pollutants, stability, quality, etc. parameters. Based on geo-climatic factors, a same plant species has different pharmacological properties due to different ingredients; such regional and morphological variations are identified by fingerprints, at the time of collection of the medicinal herb. The chromatographic (TLC, HPTLC, HPLC, GC,) and spectral (UV-Vis., FTIR, MNR, MS, LC-MS, GC-MS etc.) techniques have world-wide strong scientific approval as validated methods to generate the fingerprints of different chemical classes of active ingredients of herbal drugs. Presently there is a need for a book having all the fingerprinting techniques for herbal drugs at a place with theory, case studies and art to discover patentable forms. The present book is a mile stone in the subject, to be utilized by Scientists, Medical Doctors, Technicians, Industrialists, Researchers, and Students both in PG and UG levels.
Integration of Fundamental Organic Chemistry with Green Chemistry by
Provides an approach to design an efficient, sustainable and green lab manual. It comprises fundamental concepts of chemistry and how they are applied to green chemistry. The book illustrates that the greener approach eliminates toxic, hazardous and unsafe chemicals with safe, less toxic and environmentally-friendly compounds with an emphasis on laboratory safety. It provides an effort to enhance the academic goals in the area of chemical education. Students face difficulties in understanding and explaining theoretical concepts while performing organic experiments in the laboratory. This book is infused with theory and experiments on the same platform. It is expected that this book will bridge the gap between classroom teaching and laboratory training.
Medicinal and Environmental Chemistry: Experimental Advances and Simulations (Part II) by
Medicinal and Environmental Chemistry: Experimental Advances and Simulations is a collection of topics that highlight the use of pharmaceutical chemistry to assess the environment or make drug design and chemical testing more environment friendly. The eleven chapters included in the second part of this book set cover diverse topics, blending the fields of environmental chemistry and medicinal chemistry and have been authored by experts, scientists and academicians from renowned institutions. This part is more specialized in nature, focusing primarily on the effects of air pollution and water contamination on human health. Chapters covering pharmaceutical interventions and pollution control measures, respectively follow these initial topics. Part II also features specialized topics that aim to address some unique challenges of the above mentioned problems including antibiotic pollution, pharmaceutical analysis of pollutants, chemosensors, biosteric modifications and new drug development strategies against SARS-CoV2. Key Features:1. 11 topics which blend environmental chemistry and medicinal chemistry2. Contributions from more than 40 experts3. Includes topics covering effects of air pollution on human health and disease4. Includes specialized topics on pharmaceutical analysis in the environment, and modifications of compounds for pharmaceutical purposes5. Bibliographic references This reference is an essential source of information for readers and scholars involved in environmental chemistry, pollution management and pharmaceutical chemistry courses at graduate and undergraduate levels. Professionals and students involved in occupational medicine will also benefit from the wide range of topics covered.
©2022 Houston Community College Libraries