VR (virtual reality) videos to support the HCC curriculum. These 360 - degree immersive or spherical videos were shot using omni-directional camera technology. During playback on flat displays, such as tablets and laptops, the viewer can pan and control the viewing direction like a panorama. Stereoscope-style viewers for smartphones (such as Google Cardboard and Samsung Gear VR) can be used to view these videos in an immersive format.
Streaming videos representing a wide range of disciplines and topics, fully searchable. Users can create retrievable clips and playlists. Most videos come with a complete transcript. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide for help with the interface, embedding, and playlists.
Educational videos in the collection including timely science and history topics. New releases include: Career Decisions: Physical Therapy, The Neuroscience of Addiction Extended Interviews, Behavioral Science, AP Human Geography, Great Directors, Great Authors of the British Isles and Great Irish Authors. Ambrose Video has BBC Classics, such as BBC Shakespeare Plays, James Burkes' Connections, Ascent of Man and more. Educational video content designed with clips that target the needs of educators using new digital delivery in the classroom!
Reference biographies of men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States, with illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and search and browse capabilities. (Full text)
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. (Some full-text)
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, astronomy, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, science, geography, law, mathematics, music, health sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Learn to Use Academic Search Complete
Launched in 1924, the Journal of Chemical Education (JCE) is the world’s premier chemical education journal. The journal typically addresses chemical content, laboratory experiments, instructional methods, and pedagogies. JCE serves as a means of communication among people across the world who are interested in the teaching and learning of chemistry. The global audience includes instructors of chemistry from middle school through graduate school, professional staff who support these teaching activities, as well as some scientists in commerce, industry, and government. Full-text access includes archival content available from 1924 (Vol. 1) to the present.
Hint - Off-campus access is available once a personal account is set-up at any HCC campus. Once on the page, just click "Log-In" at upper right and then "Create one today." You do not need to enter a customer/member number.
"The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplinesboth formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings."
PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.
Provides full-text access to over 800 journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science; as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. (Some full-text)
Online access to Science Magazine. Subscription includes Science, 1997- and Science Now. Table of contents information is available for the other AAAS journals. Access is available on-campus only until an issue with the Library proxy server is resolved. We apologize for the inconvenience.
E-books on every scientific discipline with some arts and humanities. Option to purchase your own discounted bound copy available. (This site is a bit slow on older browsers.) Learn to Use Springer Nature eBooks
