“Writing for a penny a word is ridiculous. If a man wants to make a million dollars, the the best way would be to start his own religion.” (L. Ron Hubbard)
Definition: Controversial new religion started in 1954 by L Ron Hubbard, a prolific science fiction writer. "The essence of Scientology is its practicality, as The Scientology Handbook says: Scientology is an applied religious philosophy which contains workable answers to the problems people face in their lives. The subject matter of Scientology is all life. It contains practical means through which predictable improvement can be obtained in any area to which it is applied."
Basic Beliefs:
Scientology. (2007). In U. McGovern (Ed.), Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained. Chambers Harrap.
"The First Dynamic—is the urge toward existence as one’s self. Here we have individuality expressed fully. This can be called the Self Dynamic.
The Second Dynamic—is the urge toward existence as a sexual activity. This dynamic actually has two divisions. Second Dynamic (a) is the sexual act itself. And the Second Dynamic (b) is the family unit, including the rearing of children. This can be called the Sex Dynamic.
The Third Dynamic—is the urge toward existence in groups of individuals. Any group, or part of an entire class, could be considered to be a part of the Third Dynamic. The school, the society, the town, the nation are each part of the Third Dynamic and each one is a Third Dynamic. This can be called the Group Dynamic.
The Fourth Dynamic—is the urge toward existence as or of Mankind. Whereas one race would be considered a Third Dynamic, all the races would be considered the Fourth Dynamic. This can be called the Mankind Dynamic.
The Fifth Dynamic—is the urge toward existence of the animal kingdom. This includes all living things, whether vegetable or animal, the fish in the sea, the beasts of the field or of the forest, grass, trees, flowers or anything directly and intimately motivated by life. This can be called the Animal Dynamic.
The Sixth Dynamic—is the urge toward existence as the physical universe. The physical universe is composed of Matter, Energy, Space and Time. In Scientology we take the first letter of each of these words and coin a word—MEST. This can be called the Universe Dynamic.
The Seventh Dynamic—is the urge toward existence as or of spirits. Anything spiritual, with or without identity, would come under the heading of the Seventh Dynamic. This can be called the Spiritual Dynamic.
The Eighth Dynamic—is the urge toward existence as infinity. This is also identified as the Supreme Being. This is called the Eighth Dynamic because the symbol of infinity, ∞, stood upright makes the numeral 8. This can be called the Infinity or God Dynamic."
Hubbard, L. R. (1975). Technical Dictionary of Dianetics and Scientology. Bridge Publications.
Definition: "A UFO religious group" founded by Marshall Applewhite and Bonnie Nettles in 1975. whose members (composed of white Americans in their 40s) committed suicide in 1997".
Basic Beliefs:
Quote from Applewhite: "The final act of metamorphosis or separation from the human kingdom is the ‘disconnect’ or separation from the human physical container or body in order to be released from the human environment."
Heaven’s Gate. (2007). In U. McGovern (Ed.), Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained. Chambers Harrap.
Definition: An alien religious movement founded by Claude Vorilhon, a French sports journalist, in the 1970s. "After describing his "alleged encounters with aliens" in his books, a religious movement formed around aliens called the "Elohim". The "Elohim" are an "advanced civilization who created mankind in their own image,not by divine fiat but scientifically, by DNA manipulation. They gave Vorilhon the name Raël, apparently meaning ‘the messenger of those who come from the sky'".
The main aim of the Raelian Movement is the following:
… to create a world of leisure, love and fulfilment where we have rid ourselves of the moralistic social inhibitions which paralyse our joy for life, so that everyone has the courage to act as they wish, as long as this action does not harm others."
Raelian Movement. (2007). In U. McGovern (Ed.), Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained. Chambers Harrap
Primary
©2022 Houston Community College Libraries