Essential Books and eBooks by ENGL Course
-
Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence
by
Call Number: LB1062.6 G878 2016 eBook | UnlimitedISBN: 9781942341215Publication Date: 2016-01-15Writing in College is designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars, and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes. It provides a friendly, down-to-earth introduction to professors' goals and expectations, demystifying the norms of the academy and how they shape college writing assignments. Each of the nine chapters could be read separately, and each includes suggested exercises to bring the main messages to life.Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to join the academic community as novice scholars and to approach writing as a meaningful medium of communication. With concise discussions, clear multidisciplinary examples, and empathy for the challenges of student life, Guptill conveys a welcoming tone. In addition, each chapter includes Student Voices: peer-to-peer wisdom from real SUNY Brockport students about their strategies for and experiences with college writing. While there are many affordable writing guides available, most focus only on sentence-level issues or, conversely, a broad introduction to making the transition. Writing In College, in contrast, provides both a coherent frame for approaching writing assignments and indispensable advice for effective organization and expression.
-
Diving into Rhetoric: A Rhetorical View of History, Communication, and Composition
by
Call Number: (OER eBook | CCA-NC-SA 4.0)Publication Date: 2020-Aug-01In this text, students will be diving into rhetoric. They will study the ways in which rhetoric and communication developed over time, they’ll learn about the different rhetorical tools that are used for effective communication, and they’ll practice using those tools in their own compositions. -
Introduction to College Research byCall Number: (OER eBook | CCA 4.0 IL)The key to success in college research is to develop and hone your information literacy skills. These skills will prepare you to find and use information not only for college, but also in the workplace and your personal life. Having strong information literacy skills will make you a more thoughtful and effective consumer and creator of information, and will increase your awareness of and resilience toward the psychological, physiological, and sociological effects of living in a society overloaded with information.
-
The Norton Reader, 14th edition, with 2016 MLA Update
by
Call Number: PE1122 .N68 2017ISBN: 9780393617405Publication Date: 2016-10-31The Norton Reader features the largest and most diverse collection of essays, from classic to contemporary--155 in the Full edition, 95 in the Shorter. With 60 new essays almost all written in the last decade, a new ebook option, and a unique companion website that makes the book searchable by theme, genre, rhetorical mode, author, keyword--and more, the Fourteenth Edition is ideal for today's composition classes. -
The Norton Reader, 15th edition
by
Call Number: PE1122 .N68 2020ISBN: 9780393420524Publication Date: 2020-01-05The Norton Reader offers 150 ways to inspire your students to think and write about ideas and issues that matter. The most diverse selection of essays, carefully curated, are now more closely connected with new chapter introductions. Essays on timely issues and ideas will engage students, and trusted apparatus will help them read and write. The new edition features more than 60 new contemporary essays, three new chapters, and a new framework for connecting the selections, along with online adaptive learning activities in InQuizitive for Writers that provide additional instruction in sentence editing and working with sources. -
They Say / I Say
by
Call Number: PE1408 .B883823 2018ISBN: 9780393631678Publication Date: 2018-06-11This book identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing. It shows students how to frame their arguments as a response to what others have said and provides templates to help them start making the moves. The fourth edition features many NEW examples from academic writing, a NEW chapter on Entering Online Discussions, and a thoroughly updated chapter on Writing in the Social Sciences. Finally, two NEW readings provide current examples of the rhetorical moves in action. -
Writing Guide with Handbook
by
Call Number: (OER eBook) | UnlimitedISBN: 9781951693473Publication Date: 2021-12-15Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles. -
Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence
by
Call Number: LB1062.6 G878 2016 eBook | UnlimitedISBN: 9781942341215Publication Date: 2016-01-15Writing in College is designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars, and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes. It provides a friendly, down-to-earth introduction to professors' goals and expectations, demystifying the norms of the academy and how they shape college writing assignments. Each of the nine chapters could be read separately, and each includes suggested exercises to bring the main messages to life.Students will find in Writing in College a warm invitation to join the academic community as novice scholars and to approach writing as a meaningful medium of communication. With concise discussions, clear multidisciplinary examples, and empathy for the challenges of student life, Guptill conveys a welcoming tone. In addition, each chapter includes Student Voices: peer-to-peer wisdom from real SUNY Brockport students about their strategies for and experiences with college writing. While there are many affordable writing guides available, most focus only on sentence-level issues or, conversely, a broad introduction to making the transition. Writing In College, in contrast, provides both a coherent frame for approaching writing assignments and indispensable advice for effective organization and expression.
