Psychology

The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings. Job seekers will find real-world information in this volume covering: -Clinical Psychology -Cognitive Psychology -Sport Psychology -Developmental Psychology -Evolutionary Psychology -Forensic Psychology -Environmental Psychology Neuropsychology In addition to need-to-know data on the specifics of these careers, each chapter includes charts, tables, and valuable sections like "A Day in the Life of..." and Conversations with Real Professionals.

Are you considering a degree in psychology? CAREERS IN PSYCHOLOGY gives you exposure to careers in each of the areas of psychology and prompts you to explore whether or not a major and career in psychology is a good fit for you. Salary and career information, advice on getting a job after graduation, and information on applying to graduate school in psychology help you make decisions about the career that is right for you. CAREERS IN PSYCHOLOGY is a must read for anyone majoring in psychology or considering the degree.

Connecting career aspirations with the post-college world is crucial for students today. Learners must keep sight of future career opportunities while exploring a broad expanse of degrees paths and career options. Careers in Psychology, Fifth Edition helps students navigate and plan for their futures by offering exposure to the rich careers in each subfield of psychology and prompting students to consider the what, why and how of each option. In doing so, the text supports students as they determine whether a major and career in psychology is for them. Offering salary and career information, advice on getting a job after graduation, and information on applying to graduate school in psychology Tara L. Kuther and Robert D. Morgan support students in making an educated decision about their futures and career options.

Psychology is one of the most popular college majors and can lead to a satisfying career in many different fields. If graduate school is not in your plans, this book is for you. It will show you how to leverage your bachelor's degree to find a career with intellectual, emotional, and perhaps even financial rewards.

Each book offers: The latest information on a field ofinterest Training and educationalrequirements for each career Salary statistics for different positionswithin each field Up-to-date professional and Internetresources

Psychology offers endless career opportunities. Psychology offers everything from therapists to academics to hundreds of others. A psychology degree offers so many possibilities. This great, engaging and eye-opening career book offers psychology students and professionals tons of insight into what you can do a psychology degree in a wide range of areas. If you're looking for psychology career advice, you NEED this book! BUY NOW! Careers In Psychology Content Includes Part One: Introduction to Psychology Careers Introduction Why Is It Important to Look At This? Why Do People Think Psychology Is A Bad Choice? Part Two: Psychology Careers In Industrial, Experiments And Academic Psychology Careers In Industrial Psychology Careers In Experimental Psychology Psychology Careers In Academia My Own Experience Of Working In Psychology Academia Part Three: Getting Ahead and Other Useful Information Should You Do A Placement Year For University Students? How Does Work Experience Benefit Psychology Students? Why Do A Masters Degree? Why Do A PhD? Part Four: Clinical Psychology and Forensic Psychology Careers Careers In Clinical Psychology Overview Paths To Becoming A Therapist What Are Forensic Psychology Careers? Other Roles Within Clinical Psychology Conclusion

The Psychologist's Companion is intended for students as well as young professionals and writers at all stages of their careers seeking inspiration and guidelines for better scientific writing. This book is also a resource for researchers in related fields. It has been comprehensively updated, revised, and extended for its fifth edition and includes the latest style guidelines of the American Psychological Association's Publication Manual (sixth edition, 2009) as well as chapters encompassing the entire research process from doing literature research and planning an experiment to writing the paper. It features new chapters on literature research; ethics; and generating, evaluating, and selling ideas. The Psychologist's Companion also provides information on writing book proposals, grant proposals, and lectures.

This guide helps prospective student and parents understand career options, whether certain occupations are the right match for them, the road to entering their choice career, schools offering instruction in this area and full profiles on each our top participating educational institutions. The career and occupation section provides insight into what they do, how to become, what education and licenses, registrations and certifications may be required, other relevant experience, job growth over the next few years and typical salaries and hourly wages this career path provides and where to go from here to take those next steps. Additionally, we detail other similar careers that may be worth considering.As the number of school choices can be overwhelming, we give you the data to help you qualify and shortlist the right schools to make your search more manageable. Our directory lists the top colleges, universities and occupational schools that provide educational tracks supporting this career area.Among the many data points contained in the full profiles of each participating school, where available, are data available detailing admission figures, average financial aid students are receiving, the real tuition amounts students are really paying, what you can expect to pay based on your income level and what actual ACT and SAT test score ranges students are getting into these schools with.This is your one reference guide for those who want to identify their career and school of choice and understand the path to a successful future.

Psychology is one of the most popular undergraduate majors. To gain an edge and get ahead, current and prospective psychology majors need access to insider knowledge. This book provides an overview of the psychology major, subdisciplines within the field, graduate programs and the admissions process, career opportunities for all degree types, internships, and free resources for students. To make the process more interactive and proactive, students will benefit from the handy assessments, timelines, exercises, tips on enhancing employability, testimonials from students and professionals, and recommended resources, including websites, journals, and conferences. Like a good mentor, this book expertly motivates and empowers students to be proactive in exploring their educational and career options. Whether the ultimate goal is to enter the workforce or graduate school, following this insider guidance will save undergraduates time and increase their chances of success.

Graduation day. Think of it: There you were, smiling for the camera, arms round your family and friends, looking fabulous in a cap and gown. I suspect that while you were standing there, you had certain, basic assumptions about what would follow. In other words, you took it for granted that life wasn't frozen in time. You didn't know the how, what, where, or when of your future, but that was okay with you. Why, then, while smiling for the camera on graduation day, are so many of us plagued by the idea that our career life is stuck in that moment? As in: "Right now, standing here with my arms around my friends and family and holding my mouth in a good smile, I'm supposed to know exactly what I'm going to do in my career." And yet, after the click of the camera and a slight pause, you were able to put your arms down, step away from the pose, and continue rolling with the ongoing "movie" of your life. Here's the thing: It's okay to approach your career the same way. In fact, it's better than okay. It's natural. You can only start from where you are. It doesn't have to seem exactly right. It doesn't have to be "perfect." You can adjust your direction along the way, and even have fun doing it. But first you have to start moving. Book jacket.

Accessible and unbiased, Careers in Mental Health introduces upper-level high school students and beginning undergraduates to the different aspects of various mental health professions. Contains essential career advice for anyone considering an advanced degree in one of the "helping" professions within mental health Covers clinical psychology, counseling psychology, social work, counseling, marriage and family therapy, substance abuse counseling, and school psychology Clarifies the distinctions between professions by discussing the history and philosophy of each field, requirements for advanced education, licensing, available jobs, salary potential, and more Includes a section with practical information applicable to all the professions, such as characteristics for success, ethical issues, the importance of critical thinking, applying to graduate school, and current issues affecting the field of mental health