You have several choices when it comes to online discovery, so how do you choose the best option? This comparison will help.
You have several choices when it comes to online discovery, so how do you choose the best option? Maybe this comparison will help.
| Eagle Library Search | Library Catalog | Database List |
|---|---|---|
| When you aren't sure where to start | You are looking for books, media, journals, but not articles | Best if you already know the best database for your assignment |
| Search over 100 databases, the HCC Library Catalog, open access resources, and HCC information at once | Search only the library catalog | Search one database at a time |
| Most types of sources. | There are no articles here, but lots of books, media, and journals | Select from the full range of available resources |
| Searches all sources at once and displays by relevance | Physical items are arranged on library shelves by call number (subject area) | Organized many different ways: alphabetically, subject, format, reference, etc. |
| Simple search with big results that can be narrowed by limiters and facets. | Many search indexes to choose from, or try your own search terms | Full range of search options available for each database |
| Can be used for an overview or for in-depth research | Best for books, media, journals, but never articles | When you already know the best database for your topic or information need |
| Easy to move between the catalog and other results | Easy to move around search result | Easy to move within the database |
©2022 Houston Community College Libraries