Skip to Main Content

Business (COE)

Accounting: Open Textbooks

Financial Accounting
"This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions. Read the authors' preface or watch a podcast. Joe Ben Hoyle is co-author of two current market-leading advanced accounting textbooks with McGraw-Hill. He and and co-author CJ Skender have both won numerous teaching awards, and both were recently recognized by BusinessWeek as top undergraduate professors."
more...less...
Click the link to see Table of Contents and review information.
Managerial Accounting
"Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today’s students and addresses accounting industry changes as well. "
more...less...
Click the link to see Table of Contents and review information.
Mastering Strategic Management
"You can expect Mastering Strategic Management by Dave Ketchen and Jeremy Short to cover all of the traditional topics that standard strategic management texts cover, but in an exciting way that will assist you in engaging your students in your course. See for yourself by checking out the book online today. ."
more...less...
Click the link to see Table of Contents and review information.
Risk Management for Enterprises and Individuals
This book is intended for the Risk Management and Insurance course where Risk Management is emphasized. Authored by Etti Baranoff, Virginia Commonwealth University
Patrick Brockett, University of Texas, Austin
Yehuda Kahane, Tel Aviv University
The Legal and Ethical Environment of Business
"Terence Lau & Lisa Johnson’s The Legal and Ethical Environment of Business is a book for today’s student, who expects learning to be comprised not only of substance, but also of interactive exercises and multimedia. This book streamlines the presentation of material to ensure that every page is relevant, engaging, and interesting to undergraduate business students, without losing the depth of coverage that they need to be successful in their academic journeys and in their professional careers."
more...less...
Click the link to see Table of Contents and review information.
International Finance: Theory and Policy
"nternational Finance Theory and Policy develops a unified model of the international macroeconomy. The text provides detailed descriptions of major macroeconomic variables, covers the interest rate parity and purchasing power parity theories of exchange rate determination, takes an exhaustive look at the pros and cons of trade imbalances and presents the well-known AA-DD model to explore the effects of fiscal and monetary policy under both fixed and flexible exchange rates."
more...less...
Click the link to see Table of Contents and review information.
Principles of Accounting
"This principles of accounting website provides a free comprehensive textbook and learning center. Both financial accounting and managerial accounting topics are covered. Interactive formative assessments are included along with downloadable problems and exercises in Excel and pdf formats. Educators wishing to use these books as the primary or secondary sources of content in their curriculum must obtain written permission from Dr. Walthers." (Merlot)

OER Repositories, Aggregators, and Catalogs

#GoOpenVA
"#GoOpenVA is a collaborative initiative that enables educational entities throughout Virginia to create, share, and access openly-licensed educational resources (OER, also known as open education resources). "
AMSER - Applied Math and Science Education Repository
"AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout."
BC Campus
200 community college textbooks available.
InTech
InTech is a pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
MERLOT
"A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material."
MIT Open Courseware
Virtually all MIT course content. While this university site is known for its open courses, it also includes an online textbook page with links to the textbook files used in the courses. It's especially useful for finding course materials in areas where OER is sparse: civil, electrical, environmental and mechanical engineering; material and nuclear sciences; and aeronautics and astronautics, among other subjects.
OASIS
"Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 57 different sources and contains 159,459 records."
OER Commons
A network for teaching and learning materials, complete with resources for curriculum alignment, quality evaluation, social bookmarking, tagging, rating, and reviewing.
Openstax College
Rice University initiative. Free open textbooks developed and peer-reviewed by educators.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Skills Commons
"Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials. Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT "
SUNY Open Textbooks
The latest publication in this pilot effort by the State University of New York libraries is Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence, which joins 14 other titles written by faculty and published by the libraries.
Beyond textbooks
A web based tool that allows for the collection of digital curriculum materials, support materials, and other digital resources accessible to all faculty

Open Access Databases for Business

Accounting Commons
About 2,700 scholarly articles on accounting.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
"The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American people have made a huge investment in public radio and television over many decades, calculated at more than $10 billion. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations."
Business Commons
Over 61,000 articles on various aspects of business study.
Code of Federal Regulations
A codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. (Full-text)
DRAGNET
"DRAGNET stands for “Database Retrieval Access using Google’s New Electronic Technology,” a specialized search engine that was developed by librarians at the New York Law School. This feature enables you to “drag the net” through a group of free law-related Web resources. A DRAGNET search is like a Google search, except that it runs in only a select group of websites, produced by the organizations and entities listed below. The sites were chosen by our Library staff for their reliability and utility to legal researchers.* "
Economics Commons
Almost 46,000 open access articles avaiable.
EDGAR
"The SEC's EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company?s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors."
EW.com (Entertainment Weekly)
Large archive of news and review articles.
Fed in Print
Fed in Print us the central catalog of publications of the US Federal Reserve System.
FedStats
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
Free Legal Research Resources from Harvard Law School Library
An extensive list of US, International, and Historical sources to support legal research.
Global Economy
TheGlobalEconomy.com is an open educational resource on the world economy. It is used by faculty and students at 203 universities around the world, researchers, business people, journalists, and others. The website offers interactive data tools for over 200 countries and country groups such as high and low-income countries, the EU, the OECD, and others.
Google Patents
Search both U.S. and international patent offices.
IDEAS
"IDEAS the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,400,000 items of research, including over 2,200,000 that can be downloaded in full text."
Khan Academy
Free tutorials. "Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. "
Mass Communication Commons
Almost 20,000 scholarly open access articles on various aspects of mass communication.
MERLOT
"MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."
Nolo's Free Dictionary Of Law Terms and Legal Definitions
"Find plain-English definitions for legal terms by browsing Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary."
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Public Library of Law
A no-frills site providing access to statutes, cases, regulations, constitutions, and forms.
Skills Commons
"Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT"
Thomas.net
Free access to information on over 6 million products and 500,000 suppliers.
Treasury Reporting Rates of Exchange
A list of recent rates.
U.S. Census Bureau
Official site.
U.S. Mint
Informational website for the agency in charge of U.S. coinage.
U.S. Treasury
Organizational website for the United States Government agency.
World Bank Open Data
"Free and open access to global development data. This site is designed to make World Bank data easy to find, download, and use. All of the data found here can be used free of charge with minimal restrictions."
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
"File, manage or search patents, trademarks, designs and appellations of origin. Search technology, terminology and brand-related information in our free global databases. Download our other reference materials: publications, statistics, economic studies and more."
Zhongguo Gongchandang Xin Wen Wang
"This website provides information abou the daily news and activities of the Communist Party of China, as well as publications and archives of the Communist Party since its establishment in 1921. Information, publications, and documents include: Party Constitutions through the years and internal files; documents from the Communist Party's National Congress since 1921; publications of legendary leaders including Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai, Liu Shaoqi, Zhu De, Ren Bishi, Deng Xiaoping, and Chen Yun; daily activities of current party elites since 1989; historical events in Party history since 1921; Who is Who in the Communist Party over the years. " (LC)
Zhongguo Ren Min Zheng Zhi Xie Shang Hui Yi Quan Guo Wei Yuan Hui
"Zhongguo Zheng Xie Wang covers the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference's daily activities and provides its working reports and documentation, including: Resolutions and Statements, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Representatives Lists, Agendas, Session Updates, Reports, Leaders' Activities, Selected Proposals and Suggestions from Representatives, News Reports, Video Reports, etc. " (LC)

About Us
Locations & Hours
Librarians
Guidelines for Use
Did we help?
Statistics
Library Statistics
Collection Statistics
Usage Statistics
Follow us
Report
Systems Status
Report a Problem
Comments/Suggestions

©2022 Houston Community College Libraries