Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering (COE)

Databases for Engineering

Open Access Databases for Engineering

  • Ag Data Commons
    "The Ag Data Commons is a data access system maintained by the US Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library. It uses a customized version of open-source DKAN software, which is compliant with U.S. Project Open Data standards for federal agencies providing access to publicly-funded data. Ag Data Commons holds data files managed directly by NAL and also links to datasets and resources located on other websites."
  • Antarctic Digital Database [Antarctic Digital Database]
    "The SCAR Antarctic Digital Database (ADD) is a seamless compilation of topographic data for the continent of Antarctica to 60°S" (LOADB)
  • arXiv.org | Cornell University
    "Open access to 853,987 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics"
  • Automotive Engineering Commons
    295 full-text open access articles
  • Building Science Centre of Excellence
    "The Building Science Centre of Excellence BSCE provides data for construction industry."
  • Ciencia.Science.gov
    Spanish version of Science.gov
  • Civil Engineering Database
    From the American Society of Civil Engineers. No full text, but thousands of journals, papers, and books are indexed.
  • Data.gov: Manufacturing
    "Explore data, tools, apps and research related to new technologies, facilities, and research. The U.S. Government funds research for government agencies to help empower U.S. innovation—through this page you now have access to all of that valuable research and data."
  • Digital Commons Network: Corrosion
    Open articles from across the network.
  • Engineering Commons
    Over 125,000 scholarly articles available on all aspects of Engineering
  • Engineering Motion
    Websites for videos on Mechanical Engineering
  • Google Patents
    Search both U.S. and international patent offices.
  • Khan Academy
    Free tutorials. "Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. "
  • MatWeb
    "MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."
  • Mechanical Engineering Commons
    Over 17,000 scholarly articles on various aspects of mechanical engineering.
  • MERLOT
    "MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."
  • National Science Digital Library
    "The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines
  • Physics Commons
    Almost 25,000 scholarly open access articles on physics.
  • Power and Energy Commons
    Almost 2,000 open access articles.
  • Product Code Classification Database [Product Code Classification Database]
    "This database includes a list of all medical devices with their associated classifications, product codes, FDA premarket review organizations, and other regulatory information.The Product Classification Database contains medical device names and associated information developed by the Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) in support of its mission. The Product Code assigned to a device is based upon the medical device product classification designated under 21 CFR Parts 862-892. These files are updated every Sunday." (LOADB)
  • SciELO.org (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
    International collection of over 1,000 open access eJournals.
  • Science.gov
    Provides links to a wide variety of scientific resource materials, indexes, and statistics produced by U. S. departments, agencies, and related institutes and labs.
  • ScienceDirect: Open Access Articles: Corrosion
    Over 290,000 results, all open access!
  • SciTech Connect
    "SciTech Connect is your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy..."
  • Skills Commons
    "Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT"
  • Springer Open
    "SpringerOpen, launched in June 2010, includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science."
  • Structurea : International Database for Civil and Structural Engineering
    "Discover the diversity of civil, structural and bridge engineering – more than 68.000 structures with over 13.000 participating companies and their products as well as 9.000 engineers and architects, all of that illustrated with 208.000 images."
  • U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
    Analysis, projections, and data sets.
  • World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
    "File, manage or search patents, trademarks, designs and appellations of origin. Search technology, terminology and brand-related information in our free global databases. Download our other reference materials: publications, statistics, economic studies and more."
  • Engineering Formulas
    Free access to formulas provided by efunda.

©2020 Houston Community College Libraries