Accessing Databases
Using Databases
Databases are organized collections of information (often, but not always, essays and articles), accessible by any current HCC student or faculty member from anywhere with an internet connection. Each database is unique and may not be helpful for every assignment. For most topics, you will want to have an understanding of your topic's background before searching a database.
Having this understanding will help you think of specific terms or concepts that you might want to investigate further. A multi-subject, general database will search through many different academic journal and magazine articles. These can be helpful but can provide unfocused results -- a more subject-specific database may be more helpful.
Featured Database
-
Directory of Open Access JournalsList of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly online journals. Covers journals for all subjects, in all languages. (Full text)
Multi-Subject Databases
-
Gale Academic OneFile
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
-
Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, astronomy, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, science, geography, law, mathematics, music, health sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields.
-
Gale General OneFile
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
-
JSTOR
Includes articles from hundreds of scholarly research journals covering a wide range of academic fields. Coverage is always from volume 1, issue 1, but usually does not include the most recent three years. (Full-text)
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Viewpoint articles cover issues from many perspectives, beyond pro and con. Users can dive deeper with periodical content that covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Viewpoints are collected from the opinion sections of a variety of published sources, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, The American Conservative, and National Review.
-
TOPICsearch
A current events vertical file database that includes full text documents, selected full text articles, and other information from newspapers, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
