Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources "This project began as a consequence of a series of conversations in 2010 between Charles Jones and Peter Magierski at NYU about the need for a tool to assemble and distribute information on open access material relating to the Middle East."
American Archive of Public Broadcasting "The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American people have made a huge investment in public radio and television over many decades, calculated at more than $10 billion. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations."
Anthropology Index Online "The Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in cooperation with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The Library, which incorporates the former RAI library, holds some 4,000 periodical titles (1,500 current) covering all branches and areas of anthropology. Nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present."
Arachne Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes.
Art Institute of Chicago Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
AWOL - The Ancient World Online "The bibliographic data presented herein has been programmatically extracted from the content of AWOL - The Ancient World Online (ISSN 2156-2253) and formatted in accordance with a structured data model."
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine "Search engine for academic open access web resources. Full text of about 70% of the indexed documents can be accessed."
Bridgeman Art Library "Spanning centuries of visual communication, photographic reproductions of paintings, sculpture, textiles, maps and anthropological artefacts can all be found in the collection as well as newer forms of media including early photography, newsreels and documentaries." Rights managed.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) "DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format."
Europeana Fashion "xplore fashion - historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos - from museums and archives across Europe. "
figshare Discover research archived by institutions and by individuals.
JURN A curated academic search-engine, indexing 4,348 free ejournals in the arts, the humatie, business, law, science, and medicine. Search or use the directory to access individual titles.
Khan Academy Free tutorials. "Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. "
MERLOT "MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."
MET Collection "You are welcome to use images of artworks in The Met collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain, or those to which the Museum waives any copyright it might have, for any purpose, including commercial and noncommercial use, free of charge and without requiring permission from the Museum." Over 450,000 images available.
National Gallery of Art Images "NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration. "
New York Public Library | The Picture Collection " The Picture Collection For those who seek knowledge and inspiration from visual materials, the Picture Collection Online presents more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923"
Perseus Digital Library Collections Created and maintained by Tufts University, the Perseus Digital Library includes an Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser and an extensive Greek and Roman Materials Collection.
Skills Commons "Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT"
Yale Digital Content "Search nearly two million items and half a million images from across Yale's collections." Find Yale online courses, and museum items. Some content subject to copyright -- be sure to check.
