Automotive Technology: Books & eBooks

The history of hot rodding and performance cars has been well chronicled through the years. Books and magazines have covered the cars, builders, pioneers, engineers, early racers, muscle cars, street racers, etc.. Most take a nostalgic and fun look at the cars that many have loved their entire lives. Some even cover the lifestyle, the hobby as it involves people, and the effort, time, and commitment people put into it. It is more than just a hobby to most, and to many, a certain wave of nostalgia comes over them when remembering what the car scene was like "back in the day." The local speed shop is an important element of the nostalgic feeling that people have when fondly remembering their hot rodding youth. Speed shops were not just parts stores, they were a communal gathering place for car guys wanting to talk smart, bench race, and catch up on the local scene, as well as to solicit the expert advice from the owner or staff behind the counter. Here, longtime hot rodder and industry veteran Bob McClurg brings you the story of the era and the culture of speed shops as told through individual shop's histories and compelling vintage photography. He covers the birth of the industry, racing versus hot rodding, mail-order, and advertising wars. You learn about the performance boom of the 1960s and 1970s, lost speed shops as well as survivors, and a overview of the giant mail-order speed shops of today.

(Use ProQuest link) A detailed, authoritative, and thorough automotive engine-machining guide for the hard-core enthusiast has not been available until now. Mike Mavrigian, editor of Engine Building Professional, walks you through each important machining procedure.

Maximize the potential of your engine build by using the automotive machining procedures, including cylinder boring, align boring/honing, decking, valve seat cutting, cam tunnel boring, and much more. A detailed, authoritative, and thorough automotive engine machining guide for the hard-core enthusiast has not been available until now. Mike Mavrigian, editor of Engine Building Professional, walks you through each important machining procedure. A stock 300-hp engine build has far different requirements than a 1,000-hp drag race engine, and Mavrigian reveals the different machining procedures and plans according to application and engine design. He also shows you how to inspect, measure, and evaluate components so you can make the best machine work choices. Multi-angle valve jobs, altering rocker arm ratios, re-conditioning connecting rods, and machining and matching valvetrain components are also covered. Machining is an essential part of high-performance engine building and stock engine rebuilding. Although you may not own the expensive tooling and machining to perform all or any of the machining required for a quality build, understanding the principles, procedures, and goals for machining is vital so you can guide the machining process when outsourced. Classic and older engines typically require extensive machining and almost every major component of engine, including block, heads, intake, crankshaft, and pistons, requires some sort of machining and fitment. Whether you're an enthusiast engine builder or prospective machining student who wants to pursue a career as an automotive machinist, this book will provide insight and in-depth instruction for performing the most common and important machining procedures.

AUTOMOTIVE TECHNOLOGY: A SYSTEMS APPROACH provides comprehensive coverage with updates to address the latest ASE Education Foundation requirements for Maintenance and Light Repair (MLR), Automotive Service Technology (AST), and Master Service Technology (MAST) program accreditation levels. Thoroughly revised to provide accurate, current information on the latest technology, industry trends, and state-of-the-art tools and techniques, the Seventh Edition is an essential resource for building career ready students who want to succeed in the dynamic, rapidly evolving field of automotive service and repair.

This Student Workbook contains exercises to reinforce what you will learn in both Fundamentals of Automotive Technology, Principles and Practice, Third Edition and the classroom. The Student Workbook is designed to encourage critical thinking and aid comprehension through a variety of exercises in each chapter, including: ASE-Type Questions, Skill Drill Activities, Labeling, and more.

The mysteries of the versatile LS series engines are unlocked in the Haynes Techbook Cummins Diesel Engine Manual. Covering everything from engine overhaul, cylinder head selection and modification, induction and fuel systems, camshafts and valve train, to beefing-up the bottom end, turbo and supercharger add-ons, engine swaps and extreme builds, this manual will help you get the most from your LS-powered vehicle.

The third edition of Automobile Mechanical and Electrical Systems concentrates on core technologies to provide the essential information required to understand how different vehicle systems work. It gives a complete overview of the components and workings of a vehicle from the engine through to the chassis and electronics. It also explains the necessary tools and equipment needed in effective car maintenance and repair, and relevant safety procedures are included throughout. Designed to make learning easier, this book contains: Photographs, flow charts and quick reference tables Detailed diagrams and clear descriptions that simplify the more complicated topics and aid revision Useful features throughout, including definitions, key facts and 'safety first' considerations. In full colour and with support materials from the author's website (www.automotive-technology.org), this is the guide no student enrolled on an automotive maintenance and repair course should be without.

Automotive Automatic Transmission and Transaxles, published as part of the CDX Master Automotive Technician Series, provides students with an in-depth introduction to diagnosing, repairing, and rebuilding transmissions of all types. Utilizing a "strategy-based diagnostics" approach, this book helps students master technical trouble-shooting in order to address the problem correctly on the first attempt.* Outcome focused with clear objectives, assessments, and seamless coordination with task sheets* Introduces transmission design and operation, electronic controls, torque converters, gears and shafts, reaction and friction units, and manufacturer types* Equips students with tried-and-true techniques for use with complex shop problems* Combines the latest technology for computer-controlled transmissions with traditional skills for hydraulic transmissions * Filled with pictures and illustrations that aid comprehension, as well as real-world examples that put theory into practice* Offers instructors an intuitive, methodical course structure and helpful support toolsWith complete coverage of this specialized topic, this book prepares students for MAST certification and the full range of transmission problems they will encounter afterward as a technician.About CDX Master Automotive Technician SeriesOrganized around the principles of outcome-based education, CDX offers a uniquely flexible and in-depth program which aligns learning and assessments into one cohesive and adaptable learning system. Used in conjunction with CDX MAST Online, CDX prepares students for professional success with media-rich integrated solutions. The CDX Automotive MAST Series will cover all eight areas of ASE certification.

How-to pro Dennis W. Parks pins down the common challenges of automotive rust repair with clear instructions on how to identify, address, and prevent rust in Automotive Rust Repair and Prevention.Rust repair and prevention are valuable, money-saving skills for any car owner. To keep your car looking sharp and to maximize its resale value, you need to keep its body in top-notch condition. Automotive Rust Repair and Prevention details how to repair common auto-rust issues and covers all the tools and techniques for addressing this ever-present problem. Detailed instructions and step-by-step projects cover the latest information on repair strategies, whether you're dealing with a late-model car, an aging daily driver, or restoring a classic. From identifying the issue to creating a repair plan and from stopping rust in its tracks to preventing its return, Automotive Rust Repair and Prevention is your one-stop guide for dealing with the brown menace.

Look back at Chevrolet's breakthroughs in the 1950s, including technological innovations and the development and introduction of the iconic Corvette and 1955-1957 Bel Air.Automotive historian and veteran author David Temple takes you behind the scenes to reveal how these technologies were designed, manufactured, and installed on Chevrolet's fine portfolio of cars: the Corvette, Bel Air, Nomad, Impala, and many more. As the 1950s dawned, General Motors focused its industrial might on producing revolutionary rather than evolutionary cars with the ultimate goal of becoming the clear market leader in the automotive industry. To accomplish this goal, the company consistently released innovative automotive technology. During the decade, Chevrolet introduced the small-block V-8, the Powerglide automatic transmission, air-conditioning, power steering, and many other amenities that made the cars faster, safer, and more comfortable.Inside General Motors, many dedicated and talented leaders were determined to make Chevrolet cars the best on the market. Vice President of Styling Harley Earl and his team designed the 1953 Corvette concept car for the Motorama show. After receiving numerous accolades, it was rushed into production. Earl used his design acumen and creative vision as he led his team to style the 1955-1957 Bel-Air. Zora Arkus-Duntov worked tirelessly and transformed the Corvette from a touring car into a genuine sports car. Ed Cole and his engineers overcame many challenges to develop the compact, efficient, and powerful Chevy small-block V-8, which continued in production for decades. Chevrolets of the 1950s retraces the design, development, and production of these cars, but it also covers innovative vital components that were installed in them. If you have been looking for the scoop on arguably GM's greatest decade, the models, and the technology it produced, you have found it.

Technical instructor and HVAC expert Jerry Clemons completely covers both air-conditioning as well as heating systems, so you can save money repairing your own vehicle.Covered is a history of HVAC systems, airflow throughout the system, the principles of refrigerant, diagnosis of common faults in older systems, testing procedures, and finally repair and, in the case of air conditioning, recharging your system. Also included is proper evacuation and disposal of any residual refrigerant in the system. Components such as compressors, condensers, evaporators and heater cores, pressure switches and climate control electrics and switches are also covered. Finally, for people with older cars, converting from the no-longer-available R-12 to R134a is detailed. Automotive climate controls are a complex system and are difficult to repair without proper instruction. Whether you are trying to get your old classic back to its original form or are just looking to save on expensive repairs, author Jerry Clemons and this book provide the knowledge you will need to get your car back on the road and cruising in comfort.