Libraries: Biology: Databases

HCC Libraries' Biology and Science Databases

BioMed Central
Open access to content is available immediately upon publication from over 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Leading research journals here include selective titles such as BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Genome Biology, Genome Medicine and BMC Global and Public Health, academic journals such as Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series, 53 inclusive journals focused on the needs of individual research communities.
Browse article collections by subject through the links below -
Biomedicine
Chemistry
Computer Science
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Dentistry
Earth Sciences
Education
Energy
Engineering
Environment
Life Sciences
Materials Science
Mathematics
Medicine & Public Health
Philosophy
Psychology
Social Sciences
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Medline
Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. (Bibliographic; some links to full-text)
National Science Digital Library
"The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplinesboth formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings."
PubChem
PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Science & Technology Collection
Provides full-text access to over 800 journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science; as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. (Some full-text)
SciELO.org (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
International collection of over 1,000 open access eJournals.
Gale In Context: Science
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
Science.gov
Provides links to a wide variety of scientific resource materials, indexes, and statistics produced by U.S. departments, agencies, and related institutes and labs.
ScienceCinema
Highlights leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy as well as the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, ScienceCinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files. Simply enter a term in the box and start exploring!
SciTech Premium Collection
Resources for the natural sciences, technology, material science, and engineering. For help: SciTech Collection Premium LibGuide
The SciTech Premium Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Primarily full-text.

Mutidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, astronomy, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, science, geography, law, mathematics, music, health sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields.
Alexander Street Video
Streaming videos representing a wide range of disciplines and topics, fully searchable. Users can create retrievable clips and playlists. Most videos come with a complete transcript. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide for help with the interface, embedding, and playlists.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
American National Biography Online
Reference biographies of men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States, with illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and search and browse capabilities. (Full text)
JSTOR
Includes articles from hundreds of scholarly research journals covering a wide range of academic fields. Coverage is always from volume 1, issue 1, but usually does not include the most recent three years. (Full-text) Tutorials

The ArtStor collection has permanently become integrated with JSTOR and no longer requires a separate link as of 8/1/2024.
Learn more about searching in JSTOR with the video playlist below -
ProQuest Research Library
A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text). Learn to Use ProQuest Research Library
Learn the basics of searching in ProQuest databases with the video below -

Need to learn more about ProQuest's advanced features? Try the video below -

Biology: Databases

HCC Libraries' Biology and Science Databases

Mutidisciplinary Databases

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report