Libraries: Cosmetology: Careers

Resume and Cover Letter Books

Ace Your Résumé, Application, and Interview Skills by Elissa Thompson; Ann Byers
Call Number: HF5383 .T48 2020
ISBN: 9781725347069
Publication Date: 2019-12-30
Looking for a job can be overwhelming for anyone, especially a teen in search of that first paying gig. In this easy-to-follow guide, readers will learn all the steps to finding, applying, and interviewing for a job. Step-by-step instructions will explain how to build a resume, how to write a compelling cover letter, and how to pen business correspondence. Accessible advice will help job-seeking teens to dress professionally, tackle tricky interview questions, and showcase the very best they have to offer.

Tutorials

Back/Top

Indeed Resume Samples
JobStar Central
Learn more about resumes and cover letters and use the samples here as a guide for getting your own resume in shape for your post-graduation job hunt!

Websites for Career Information

Back/Top

WSJ Career How-To Guide
CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the U. S. Department of Labor, employment and Training Administration.

Texas Board of Cosmetology - Website

TDLR Barbering and Cosmetology

Careers & Vocations Databases

Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of fashion content collections of e-books, reference works, images, and more, including the Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books Library, Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases, Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive, Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive, Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library, and the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online. (Full-text)
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles.
EBSCO Engineering Source
Designed for a broad range of engineering professionals and researchers of all types, and includes over 2,000 full-text journals.
HCC Fashion Archive
The Fashion Archive at Houston Community College consists of approximately 506 digitized items from a 7,000+ piece physical collection that goes back to the 1740's including historical and contemporary garments, shoes, hats, bags, and other apparel accessories. The archive includes 3 collections (Historical, Traditional Costume and Alumni) emphasizing many locally based designers and couture pieces donated by Texas socialites.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
Job and Career Accelerator
LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator gives job seekers the tools they need to explore careers, find open positions, apply for jobs and get hired. Create your personal account to get started.
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library is an easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

Create a personal account to best use this resouce. Learn to Use Learning Express Library 3.0
Learn more about using LearningExpress Library with this video playlist -
National Science Digital Library
"The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplinesboth formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings."
O*NET OnLine
O*NET OnLine (Occupational Information Network) is administered and sponsored by the US Department of Labor's Employment and Training Administration.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Occupational Outlook Handbook is from the US Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. This online, searchable version of the OOH contains information on training, education, expected growth, conditions, and more for a wide array of careers.
For tips on searching the Occupational Outlook Handbook, check out the short video below -

Need more information about employment projections? Check below -
Small Engine Repair Source
Detailed, user-friendly repair guides and manuals for all kinds of small engines. Covers lawn equipment, boat, motorcycle, tractor, and other engines. (Full-text)
Vocational and Career Collection
Provides the contents of more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals. (Some full-text)
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.

Cosmetology Careers

Cosmetology Career Starter by Lorraine Korman; Felice Primeau Devine; LearningExpress Staff
Call Number: TT958 .K67 2002
ISBN: 1576853977
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
In this book you'll learn more details about the field and the possible paths you can take. You'll learn about training programs on the high school/vocational school and postsecondary levels. You'll learn what's required to get your license, and you'll learn why getting your license is only the beginning of your career.
Careers in Cosmetology by Institute For Institute For Career Research
Call Number: TT958 .C26 2015
ISBN: 9781514735992
Publication Date: 2015-06-27
HAIR DRESSERS, STYLISTS, MAKEUP ARTISTS, NAIL AND SKIN CAREARE YOU A VISUAL AND ARTISTIC person with a keen eye for fashion? Are you good with your hands, and using tools? Cosmetology is a field where you can combine technical skills with creative flair in a variety of ways.

Cosmetology: Careers

Resume and Cover Letter Books

Tutorials

Websites for Career Information

Texas Board of Cosmetology - Website

Careers & Vocations Databases

Cosmetology Careers

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report