Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welding Technology: Careers

The Welding Technology program is designed to offer students the necessary skills for entry level positions in the welding industry.

Article Databases

  • Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

    Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 55,000 resource entries, and much more!

  • Learning Express Library

    Create a free personal account in this HCC subscription to access practice GED, TOEFL, and many other exams; job certification exams for careers such as cosmetology, firefighter, real estate, nursing, etc.; information and practice for citizenship exams in English and Spanish; and a wide range of basic skills development materials, in areas such as mathematics and grammar.

  • O*NET OnLine

    "Making occupational information interactive and accessible for all..."

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook

    The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.

  • ProQuest Career and Technical Education

    A broad collection of periodicals related to many vocations and technical fields. (Some full-text)

  • Vocational and Career Collection

    Provides the contents of more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals. (Some full-text)

  • Vocations and Careers Collection

    Provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry periodicals, including nearly 400 journals. (Some full-text)

Multi-subject Databases Recommended for Career Information

  • Academic OneFile (InfoTrac)

    Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects; Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995 (Some full-text)

  • Academic Search Complete

    Provides more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, with indexing and abstracts for 10,900 publications. Content goes back as far as 1865. Covers many academic disciplines including art, music, literature, history, sociology, psychology, government, and science. (Some full-text)

  • General Reference Center Gold

    A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text)

  • NBC Learn

    For more than 80 years, NBC News has been documenting the people, places, and events that shape our world. NBC Learn, the educational arm of NBC News, is dedicated to making these historic stories, images and primary source documents available on-demand to teachers, students, and parents.

  • OmniFile Full Text Mega (HW Wilson)

    A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text)

  • Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection

    An indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works from the humanities, social sciences, science, professional, and technical fields. The Premium Collection includes key titles from the Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. (Full-text)

  • ProQuest Research Library

    A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text)

  • Testing & Education Reference Center

    Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks.

Featured DVD

Featured Article

Books: Careers in Welding Technology

Test Preparation

Websites for Career Information

Tutorials

©2020 Houston Community College Libraries