Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts, news source transcripts and videos. Key subject areas include biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Articles are presented in both PDF and HTML formats. There are more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and 8,000 in full text included.
Learn more about effective searching techniques in the short video below -
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Academic Video Online's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue. A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:
https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456
By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:
https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456
and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Streaming videos representing a wide range of disciplines and topics, fully searchable. Users can create retrievable clips and playlists. Most videos come with a complete transcript. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide for help with the interface, embedding, and playlists.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.
A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:
https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456
By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:
https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456
and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Removes access barriers with hundreds of thousands of DRM-free options that can easily be read on any device.
If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Viewpoint articles cover issues from many perspectives, beyond pro and con. Users can dive deeper with periodical content that covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Viewpoints are collected from the opinion sections of a variety of published sources, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, The American Conservative, and National Review.
Want to learn more about Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints? The video below covers the basics -
And this video introduces you to the database's topic pages, where resources on specific subjects are collected together, making searching easier -
Includes articles from hundreds of scholarly research journals covering a wide range of academic fields. Coverage is always from volume 1, issue 1, but usually does not include the most recent three years. (Full-text) Tutorials
The ArtStor collection has permanently become integrated with JSTOR and no longer requires a separate link as of 8/1/2024.
Learn more about searching in JSTOR with the video playlist below -
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Find credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources, to support every program at HCC. Be sure to click the facet for HCC-owned and subscribed items. Many chapters can be downloaded DRM-free. Learn to Use e-Libro, ebrary and ProQuest eBook Central
Learn more about searching for ebooks in the video below -
A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text). Learn to Use ProQuest Research Library
Learn the basics of searching in ProQuest databases with the video below -
Need to learn more about ProQuest's advanced features? Try the video below -
A suite of databases providing access to periodical articles, reference materials, pictures, government documents, and selected Internet sites, related to a wide range of topics. (Full-text) Learn to Use SIRS Issues Researcher
Not working from on-campus? Click here
Learn more about searching SIRS Issues Researcher with the below video -
©2022 Houston Community College Libraries