Libraries: Humanities &amp; Interdisciplinary Studies: Relevant Databases

Eagle Library Search (ELS)

Eagle Library Search, or ELS, is a discovery tool used to comb through many of our databases simultaneously rather than individually. It does a good job of casting a wide net, but cannot capture every item we own or may access. It's a great starting point, but we recommend that students also explore individual databases in their research journey. Students can always find the ELS box on the library's homepage.

Relevant HCC Library Databases for Humanities Research

This database list is not exhaustive, but it is relevant and reliable. Project Muse deserves special recognition for its excellence and relevance for the humanities.

Alexander Street Video
Streaming videos representing a wide range of disciplines and topics, fully searchable. Users can create retrievable clips and playlists. Most videos come with a complete transcript. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide for help with the interface, embedding, and playlists.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Alexander Street 360VR Video
VR (virtual reality) videos to support the HCC curriculum. These 360 - degree immersive or spherical videos were shot using omni-directional camera technology. During playback on flat displays, such as tablets and laptops, the viewer can pan and control the viewing direction like a panorama. Stereoscope-style viewers for smartphones (such as Google Cardboard and Samsung Gear VR) can be used to view these videos in an immersive format.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Arachne
Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
The majority of the resources are provided in Spanish. "...draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960."

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
The majority of the resources are provided in Spanish. "Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century.”

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Artstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR database. The Artstor website was officially retired on August 1, 2024, but you can still click here to search Artstor.
Chronicling America
This site allows you to search and read digitized newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Credo Reference
"Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos" For help see our Credo LibGuides
Learn more about searching in Credo Reference in the video below -

Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Europeana Collections
"Explore 58,207,016 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives."
Essay and General Literature Index
Citations to nearly 86,000 essays in over 7,000 printed anthologies and collections covering the entire range of the humanities and social sciences dating as far back as 1985. (No full-text)

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!

Gale In Context: Biography
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
Learn more about Literature Resource Center with the short video below -
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women's lives across the globe.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
[Choose SELECT ALL] Scholarly journal and magazine sources covering art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry. (Some full-text)
Internet Classics Archive
Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
Kanopy Streaming
Outstanding streaming videos and films relevant to the social sciences and humanities.
LibriVox
Public domain audiobooks

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
National Dance Institute Video Archive
A collection of over 500 films from the New York Public Library archives.
National Endowment for the Arts Publications
All documents are in PDF format.
National Screening Room
"The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide."
Philosophy Commons
Over 20,000 articles available from about 300 institutions.
Project Muse
This multi-purpose database offers the full text of over 300 scholarly journals covering the humanities, arts, and social sciences. (Full-text) How to Search / How to Cite.
SpringerLink & Springer Nature eBooks
E-books on every scientific discipline with some arts and humanities. Option to purchase your own discounted bound copy available. (This site is a bit slow on older browsers.) Learn to Use Springer Nature eBooks

Basic Library Searching
This is a pre-recorded video on how to perform Boolean searches in Eagle Library Search and navigate topical databases like Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints to find popular, scholarly, and multimedia sources for research. The interfaces are explained with common filters and helpful tools for downloading, sharing, linking, and citing.

HCC Library Database Searching Quick Guide
This document helps students understand the basics of building simple or intermediate search strings to perform research in the library's databases.

Humanities & Interdisciplinary Studies: Relevant Databases

Eagle Library Search (ELS)

Relevant HCC Library Databases for Humanities Research

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report