Libraries: DANCE: Dance Streaming Video Databases

Databases of Dance Videos

Dance from Alexander Street
Dance from Alexander Street contains hundreds of hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Alexander Street Video
Streaming videos representing a wide range of disciplines and topics, fully searchable. Users can create retrievable clips and playlists. Most videos come with a complete transcript. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide for help with the interface, embedding, and playlists.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Academic Video Online's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue. A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Ambrose Video
Educational videos in the collection including timely science and history topics. New releases include: Career Decisions: Physical Therapy, The Neuroscience of Addiction Extended Interviews, Behavioral Science, AP Human Geography, Great Directors, Great Authors of the British Isles and Great Irish Authors. Ambrose Video has BBC Classics, such as BBC Shakespeare Plays, James Burkes' Connections, Ascent of Man and more. Educational video content designed with clips that target the needs of educators using new digital delivery in the classroom!
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
"The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American people have made a huge investment in public radio and television over many decades, calculated at more than $10 billion. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations."
Docuseek2
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges, universities and K-12 schools, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Ethnographic Video Online
The Ethnographic Video Online collections provide the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior - more than 2000 hours and 2,400 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
EW.com (Entertainment Weekly)
Large archive of news and review articles.
Kanopy Streaming
Videos requested by HCC professors for use in the classroom.
National Dance Institute Video Archive
A collection of over 500 films from the New York Public Library archives.
National Screening Room
"The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide."

DANCE

Databases of Dance Videos

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report