Skip to main content

Art : Careers

Types of Professions and Occupations where some education in Art courses is required

Studio Artists Museums:Curators Registrars Transportation Experts Demonstrators Librarians Art Dealers Art Consultants Art Preservationists Corporate Art Managers Art Buyers Preparators Restorators Exhibit Technicians Guards/Attendants Administrators Staff Members Critics Educators Researchers Conservators Directors. Art Critics, Writers and Journalists. Art Galleries: Owners Preparators Sales Associates. Art Dealers Advertising Agencies Graphic Designers Photo Editors Fashion Photographers  Advertising Photographers Medical Photographers Fine Art Photographers Photojournalists
Industrial Designers Fashion Designers Textile Designers Hand Weavers Bookbinders Healthcare Designers Office Designers Sign System Designers
Furniture Designers Retail Identity Designers Layout Artists Interior Designers Architectural Occupations: Architects Historical Preservationists Site Planners Environmental Designers Environmental Behaviorists Urban Planners Lighting Designers Acoustic Designers Specification Writers Adaptive Reuse Designers Architectural Critics Preservation Contractors Research Directors Municipal and County Planners Archivists  Media Producers and Consultants Art Directors Package Designers.  Art Teachers (all levels, all formats) Art Tutors Webmasters Multimedia Designers Auction House Executives Auction House Staff Members Artists’ Organizations: Staff Members Administrators. Artist Assistants or Staffers Artist Consultation Art Workshops: Printmaking Facilities Ceramic Studios Studio Schools. Medical Illustrators Cartoonists Self-Publishers Mural Artists Comic Book or Media Production Illustrators Courtroom Sketch Artists Police Sketch Artists Forensic Artists Forensic Photographers Jewelry Designers Display Designers Art Therapists Computer Animators Special Effects Artists (Cinema) Video Game Designers Video Game Artists Video Game Programmers Stage or Film set Designers Portrait Artists Publishers Animators Product Designers Tattoo Artists Theme Park Attraction Designers Medical Equipment Designers
Mardi Gras Float Designers Film Preservationists Cinematographers Video/Film Artists, Producers, or Staff.And more…

Advertising Designer * Aerial Photographer * Aeronautical Designer * Aesthetician * Air Brush Artist * Anatomical Diagrammer * Animator * Antique Collector * Appraiser * Archaeologist * Architect * Architectural Delineator * Art Director * Art Historian * Art Librarian * Auctioneer * Automobile Designer * Bank-Note Designer * Basket Maker * Beadmaker * Benday Artist * Billboard Artist/Painter * Bookbinder * Book * Bridge Designer * Designer Calligrapher * Caricaturist Cartographer * Cartoonist * Ceramist * China Painter/Designer * Cinematographer * City Planner * Clothing Designer * Collector * Color Separator * Color Specialist * Commercial Artist * Communications Designer * Computer Graphics Artist * Conservator * Consultant * Costume Designer * Craftsperson * Critic * Culinary Artist * Curator * Cutlery Designer * Decorator Designer * Detailer * Docent * Draftsperson * Educator * Engraver * Environmental Designer * Etcher * Fabric Designer * Facility Planner * Fashion Designer * Fashion Illustrator * Fiber Artist * Filmmaker * Floral Arranger * Framer * Furniture Designer * Gallery Owner * Gardener * Glassblower * Glazer * Golf Course Architect * Graphic Designer * Greeting Card Designer * Handicrafter * Hatmaker * Hemstitcher * Ice Sculptor * Illuminator * Industrial Designer * Instructor * Interior Decorator * Jacquard Weaver * Jewelry Designer * Kinetic Artist * Knitter * Lace Marker * Landscape Architect * Layout Artist * Letter Designer * Lithograph Artist * Lithographer * Machinery Designer * Make-up Artist * Mapmaker * Marine Architect * Mask Maker * Medical Illustrator * Memorial Designer * Menu Designer * Mosaicist * Muralist * Museum Director * Needleworker * Neon Sign Maker * Newspaper Illustrator * Origami Artist * Ornament Designer * Packaging Designer * Painter * Papermaker * Parade Float Designer * Paste-up Artist * Pattern Designer * Photographer * Photojournalist * Police Artist * Porcelain Designer * Potter * Printmaker * Product Designer * Professor * Prop Designer * Puppet Maker * Quilt Maker * Record Jacket Designer * Researcher * Restorer Reviewer * Rug Weaver * Sand Painter * Sand-Caster * Scagliola Artist * Scenic Artist * Scrimshaw Artist * Sculptor * Serigrapher * Set Designer * Shoe Designer * Sidewalk Artist * Sign Painter * Silversmith * Stained Glass Designer * Stamp Illustrator * Textile Designer * Theme Park Designer * Tile Designer/Painter * Toy Designer * Trompe l'oeil Painter * Typographer * Ukrainian Egg Decorator * Urn Designer * Watercolorist Weaver * Window Dresser/Decorator * Woodworker * Xyographer * Yarn Dyer * Zincographer * and Many More

Art Careers Books from the Library

  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover
  • Book Cover

Career Guidance Websites

Databases for Careers

  • HCC DatabasesFerguson's Career Guidance Center

    Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 55,000 resource entries, and much more!

  • HCC DatabasesLearning Express Library

    Create a free personal account in this HCC subscription to access practice GED, TOEFL, and many other exams; job certification exams for careers such as cosmetology, firefighter, real estate, nursing, etc.; information and practice for citizenship exams in English and Spanish; and a wide range of basic skills development materials, in areas such as mathematics and grammar.

  • HCC DatabasesProQuest Career and Technical Education

    A broad collection of periodicals related to many vocations and technical fields. (Some full-text)

  • HCC DatabasesVocational and Career Collection

    Provides the contents of more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals. (Some full-text)

  • HCC DatabasesVocations and Careers Collection

    Provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry periodicals, including nearly 400 journals. (Some full-text)

 

University of Houston Art Dept.

UH School of Art Logo

©2020 Houston Community College Libraries