Libraries: Fashion Design: Databases & Online Resources

Art & Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete is a robust art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Artstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. For off-campus access search with JSTOR. Licensed by HCC Curriculum Innovation Centers.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more. (Full-text)
Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. *For fashion related content, check out the Fashion in Credo LibGuide: https://library.hccs.edu/LibGuides/Credo
Learn more about searching in Credo Reference in the video below -

Technical Note - Permanent links and the links contained in the generated citations inside Credo do not function as expected when accessed from off-campus. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing "https://search.credoreference.com/" in the URL string with "https://0-search-credoreference-com.librus.hccs.edu/" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Credo article -

https://search.credoreference.com/search?q=Abnormal+psychology&concept=Q29uY2VwdDozMzMz&aid=103617
Would change to -
https://0-search-credoreference-com.librus.hccs.edu/search?q=Abnormal+psychology&concept=Q29uY2VwdDozMzMz&aid=103617
and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Europeana Collections
Explore 58,207,016 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives. Explore "Collections" for the Fashion themed Collection of items.
Flipster
"Flip" through 28 of your favorite magazines, such as Time, People, and The New Yorker. Learn to Use Flipster
If you experience issues accessing this database, try this link as an alternative.
If you experience issues accessing this database from either of the above links, try this link as an alternative for on-campus access.
HCC Fashion Archive
The Fashion Archive at Houston Community College consists of approximately 506 digitized items from a 7,000+ piece physical collection that goes back to the 1740's including historical and contemporary garments, shoes, hats, bags, and other apparel accessories. The archive includes 3 collections (Historical, Traditional Costume and Alumni) emphasizing many locally based designers and couture pieces donated by Texas socialites.
WGSN Registration
Use this link from an HCC campus to register a WGSN account. Once registered, use that account to access WGSN from anywhere. If you are unable to come to an HCC campus to set-up your account, please email contactus@wgsn.com with your full name, HCC student email, and proof of enrollment (a screenshot of your class schedule should work).
Women's Wear Daily (WWD)
Women's Wear Daily is a fashion-industry trade journal and a leading resource for the fashion industry. WWD delivers information and intelligence on changing trends and breaking news in the men and women's fashion, beauty and retail industries with a readership composed largely of retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, media executives, advertising agencies, socialites and trend makers. (Wikipedia)

The Business of Fashion
The Business of Fashion is a trade publication resource valuable for professionals, creatives, entrepreneurs in the fashion industry. This media company offers resources for career building, business trends, and industry analysis.
We Wear Culture - Google Arts & Culture
Provide by Google Arts & Culture, We Wear Culture is a collection of over 400 stories from curators from leading costume and textile institutions from around the world.
Fashion and Race Database
The Fashion and Race Database was established as a space to amplify the voices of those who have been racialized (and thus marginalized) in fashion, to illuminate under-examined histories, and to address racism throughout the fashion system.
Tag Walk
Tagwalk is the fashion search engine which allows you to search for models, trends, accessories and fashion shows by keywords.

Fashion Design

Librarian

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report