Quick Catalog Search
Type the search term(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Submit button.
Or visit the full site.
Search for eBooks
Search for HCC Library E-Books
Over 200,000 e-books available!
eBook Collections for Astronomy
-
Directory of Open Access BooksLarge collection of open access books, made available by academic publishers such as Springer and Brill.
-
EBSCO eBook Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Removes access barriers with hundreds of thousands of DRM-free options that can easily be read on any device.
-
Science & Technology eBook Subscription
The Science and Technology Ebook Subscription offers more than 28,000 carefully curated ebooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math. It is designed to facilitate the research workflow and outcomes for your library and its users. The Subscription included renowned publishers such as Wiley, Island Press, World Scientific Press, University of North Carolina Press, Elsevier Science, Rutgers University Press, and Temple University Press.
-
SpringerLink & Springer Nature eBooks
Hundreds of thousands of ebooks, ejournals, and other materials on every scientific discipline with some arts and humanities. (Some full-text)
Featured Books
-
How Einstein Created Relativity Out of Physics and Astronomy
by
Call Number: QC6.9 eBookISBN: 9781461447825Publication Date: 2012-09-25This book tracks the history of the theory of relativity through Einstein's life, with in-depth studies of its background as built upon by ideas from earlier scientists. The focus points of Einstein's theory of relativity include its development throughout his life; the origins of his ideas and his indebtedness to the earlier works of Galileo, Newton, Faraday, Mach and others; the application of the theory to the birth of modern cosmology; and his quest for a unified field theory. -
The Handy Astronomy Answer Book
by
Call Number: QB52 .L58 2014 eBookISBN: 9781578594801Publication Date: 2013-09-01From planetary movements and the exploration of our solar system to black holes and dark matter, this comprehensive reference simplifies all aspects of astronomy with an approachable question-and-answer format. With chapters broken into various astronomical studies--including the universe, galaxies, planets, and space exploration--this fully updated resource is an ideal companion for students, teachers, and amateur astronomers, answering more than 1,00 questions, such as Is the universe infinite? What would happen to you if you fell onto a black hole? What are the basic concepts of Einstein's special theory of relativity? and Who was the first person in space? -
Every Night Astronomy: from Ancient Calendars to Harvest Moons
by
Call Number: QB44.3 .S63 2015ISBN: 9781507541784Publication Date: 2015-02-06Does the sun always rise exactly in the east? What are supermoons and are they really so big? What is the relationship between the apparent path of the sun and the zodiac signs? Why did the ancient Egyptians worship the bright star Sirius and how is the star connected to the phrase "dog days"? What stars did ancient armies use for testing their soldiers' eyesight? Which is the most accurate calendar in use? What is the Antikythera mechanism and could it really predict eclipses? How is astronomy connected to the famous painter Vincent van Gogh?This book provides the answers to these and a number of other similar questions in a simple and concise manner without the use of equations or complicated mathematics.
