Skip to main content

Paralegal Technology: Databases and Articles

This is a guide of selected sources that support the Paralegal Technology program at Houston Community College.

How to Use HCC Library Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, with indexing and abstracts for 10,900 publications. Content goes back as far as 1865. Covers many academic disciplines including art, music, literature, history, sociology, psychology, government, and science. (Some full-text)

CQ.com
Provides discussion of issues and legislation of interest to the U. S. Congress. Includes full-text coverage of CQ Weekly from 1983 to the present. The full text of congressional bills can be searched.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Formerly netLibrary. Approximately 29,000 research-oriented books, fully searchable by author, title, keyword, and any word in the text. (Full-text)

InfoTrac Insurance & Liability Collection
A collection of nearly 40 journals for the insurance field, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. (Some full-text)

Legal Collection
Provides full text for nearly 250 scholarly law journals. (Full-text)

Nexis Uni 
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and general reference information. You can search legal dictionaries, statutes and codes, legal cases from state courts up to the Supreme Court, and much more.

Quick tutorial for using Nexis Uni here


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Critical Thinking
Draws on the Opposing Viewpoints social issues series, as well as core reference content from other sources, plus viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. (Full-text)

ProQuest Research Library
A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics. (Some full-text)

SIRS Knowledge Source
A suite of databases providing access to periodical articles, reference materials, pictures, government documents, and selected Internet sites, related to a wide range of topics. (Full-text)

©2020 Houston Community College Libraries