Libraries: Petroleum Engineering Technology: Home

Introduction

Petroleum Engineering is the field of engineering concerned with the production of oil and gas derived from petroleum reserves. In addition to course work that may be transferred to a four year program, HCCS offers an Associate's degree and a Certificate in Petroleum Engineering Technology.

You'll learn how to:

Explain Exploration, Production, and Operation concepts associated with the Petroleum Industry. Describe basic geological concepts, surveys, and maps relevant to the exploration and production.

Analyze petroleum data analysis associated with exploration & production, well completions and facilities operations.

Explain data acquisition by in using relevant software in Petroleum industry.

Describe natural gas production and enhanced oil recovery. Identify basic petrochemicals and describe their technology of production.

Research and Background

Fundamentals of Gas Shale Reservoirs by Reza Rezaee
ISBN: 9781118645796
Publication Date: 2015-07-27
Provides comprehensive information about the key exploration, development and optimization concepts required for gas shale reservoirs Includes statistics about gas shale resources and countries that have shale gas potential.
Standard Handbook of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering by William C. Lyons (Editor); Gary J. Plisga (Editor); Michael Lorenz (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123838469
Publication Date: 2015-12-05
Standard Handbook of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, Third Edition, provides you with the best, state-of-the-art coverage for every aspect of petroleum and natural gas engineering.
Nontechnical Guide to Petroleum Geology, Exploration, Drilling and Production by Norman J. Hyne
ISBN: 9781593702694
Publication Date: 2012-03-31
In this popular text that has trained thousands in the petroleum industry for years, Dr. Norman Hyne takes readers through upstream operations--from how oil and gas are formed; how to find commercial quantities; how to drill, evaluate, and complete a well--all the way through production and improved oil recovery.
Working Guide to Petroleum and Natural Gas Production Engineering by William C. Lyons
ISBN: 9781856178464
Publication Date: 2009-09-16
Working Guide to Petroleum and Natural Gas Production Engineering provides an introduction to key concepts and processes in oil and gas production engineering.

Multimedia Resources

Career and Training Information

Houston Community College's Petroleum Engineering Technology Programs
Petroleum Engineering Technology is a program designed to prepare individuals to work as Petroleum Engineering Technicians in the oil and gas and related industries. The petroleum industry hires these highly skilled individuals for multiple field and office positions.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Petroleum Engineers
The Occupational Outlook Handbooks provides up to date, reliable information about job duties, salaries, job prospects, workplace environment and other career related areas.
Society of Petroleum Engineers
SPE is a not-for-profit professional association whose members are engaged in energy resources development and production. SPE is a key resource for technical knowledge related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry, and provides services through publications, events, training courses and online resources at www.spe.org. Income from SPE events and services are invested back into SPE to support many other society programs
Careers in Petroleum Engineering offer a well of opportunity.
There continues to be a need for skilled workers in this field, and median salaries are around $130,000 a year.
University of Houston Department of Petroleum Engineering
Provides information about courses, degree and transfer requirements.

Subject Guide

Todd Beckett

Email Me

Contact:

Houston Community College
Northeast Campus
Codwell Library
HCC Mail Code 1449-C1
555 Community College Drive
Houston, TX 77013
william.beckett@hccs.edu
https://learning.hccs.edu/faculty/william.beckett

713.718.8321

Subjects: Drafting & Design Engineering Technology, Electronics Engineering Technology, Engineering Science, Fire Science & Safety, Instrumentation & Controls Engineering Technology, Petroleum Engineering Technology, Process Technology

Databases and Electronic Resources

EBSCO Engineering Source
Designed for a broad range of engineering professionals and researchers of all types, and includes over 2,000 full-text journals.

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
National Science Digital Library
"The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplinesboth formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings."
SciELO.org (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
International collection of over 1,000 open access eJournals.
Science And Technology Collection
Provides full-text access to over 800 journals covering aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science; as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. (Some full-text)

If you experience issues accessing this database, just click here to preview the new EBSCOhost experience!
Gale OneFile: Science
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.
Gale In Context: Science
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
SciTech Collection Premium
Resources for the natural sciences, technology, material science, and engineering. For help: SciTech Collection Premuim LibGuide

Petroleum Engineering Technology: Home