Not sure where to start searching? Try our Multi-Subject or Recommended databases. For quick or background information use our Reference Sources page.
Databases with this icon
are limited to HCC students, faculty and staff. Off campus access is available by logging in with your HCC username and password. Students: this is your "W" number. Faculty and staff: this is usually your firstname.lastname.
First, we strongly recommend clearing your browser's cache and cookies and trying to access the resource again before filling out the form linked below. If you are unfamiliar with clearing your browser's cache and cookies, these instructions for your web browser may help: Chrome | Edge | Safari | Firefox
If you are still experiencing issues, complete the Can't Login Form and we will respond as soon as we can.
If you are having trouble using the databases once you have successfully logged in and have started searching, check out these helpful Database Access FAQs.
Highlight on Primary Sources! The databases below contain various primary sources. A primary source is an artifact, document, diary, manuscript, autobiography, recording, or any other source of information that was created at the time under study.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collections: Series 1-5 (1691-1877) feature over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
The majority of the resources are provided in Spanish. “...draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960.”
The majority of the resources are provided in Spanish. "Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century.”
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Includes articles from hundreds of scholarly research journals covering a wide range of academic fields. Coverage is always from volume 1, issue 1, but usually does not include the most recent three years. (Full-text)
The ArtStor collection has permanently become integrated with JSTOR and no longer requires a separate link as of 8/1/2024.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference ebooks and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Newspapers.com Texas Edition newspapers span almost 150 years (from 1865 to 2014) and cover dozens of Texas cities, making this an invaluable resource for anyone researching their Texas ancestors or wanting to learn more about events and trends in the state’s remarkable history. The oldest issues of included Texas papers come from The Galveston Daily News, which has issues dating back to 1865. For local research, The Houston Post (1893-1952) and The Houston Chronicle (1912-1929) are found here.
From Abilene to Wichita Falls, use Newspapers.com to explore the papers that documented the progress of the state of Texas and its residents. (Full-text)