Rapid Readers' Advisory: Poetry

The Collected Poems of Sylvia Plath This collection contains 224 poems, including a selection of her very earliest work. Also use: Crossing the River (1971), a volume that contains the poet's last works. Containing everything that celebrated poet Sylvia Plath wrote after 1956, this is one of the most comprehensive collections of her work. Edited, annotated, and with an introduction by Ted Hughes. Annotation. Containing everything that celebrated poet Sylvia Plath wrote after 1956, this is one of the most comprehensive collections of her work. Edited, annotated, and with an introduction by Ted Hughes

Additional copy located at Eastside

Classical Sanskrit literature boasts an exquisite canon of poetry devoted to erotic love. The volume features works by seventy-two poets, including seven women poets and thirty-five anonymous poets, primarily composed between the fourth and seventeenth centuries. It includes a detailed introduction that guides readers through Sanskrit poetic forms and explains how to read and appreciate the poems in English. Erotic Poems from the Sanskrit seeks to represent the breadth of Sanskrit poetry through the ages and to present a cohesive, thematically unified selection when read as a whole. The works in this volume depict licit and illicit love, speaking to the joys and sorrows of consummation and separation and a broader cultural celebration of the pleasures of the flesh. Often sexually explicit, they are replete with recurrent scenarios and striking tactile, visual, and olfactory images, whose resonance and use as motifs across eras are expertly explained. #eBook

The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou For the first time, the complete collection of Maya Angelou's published poems-including "On the Pulse of Morning"--In a permanent collectible, handsome hardcover edition.

Words For War: New Poems From Ukraine edited by Oksana Maksymchuk & Max Rosochinsky. "The armed conflict in the east of Ukraine brought about an emergence of a distinctive trend in contemporary Ukrainian poetry: the poetry of war. Directly and indirectly, the poems collected in this volume engage with the events and experiences of war, reflecting on the themes of alienation, loss, dislocation, and disability; as well as justice, heroism, courage, resilience, generosity, and forgiveness. In addressing these themes, the poems also raise questions about art, politics, citizenship, and moral responsibility. The anthology brings together some of the most compelling poetic voices from different regions of Ukraine. Young and old, female and male, somber and ironic, tragic and playful, filled with extraordinary terror and ordinary human delights, the voices recreate the human sounds of war in its tragic complexity." #ReadingCulture #eBook

100 Love Sonnets by Pablu Neruda, translated from Spanish to English by Gustavo Escobedo. The original title is 'Cien sonetos de amor.'

Collected Poems by Chinua Achebe "Featuring seven new, never-before-published poems in addition to Chinua Achebe's award-winning earlier work, Collected Poems makes available again after more than twenty-five years the poetry of Africa's foremost novelist. From an account of the tragedy of Biafra to an appeal to African consciousness, from a gentle mockery of tradition to a recollection of personal relationships, Achebe's poems are marked by a richness of language and blend simplicity and eloquence, fierceness and tenderness and a careful attention to the minute - a facial expression, a wrinkled hand, a sunbeam."

A Selection of Short Stories and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe Behold: a selection of short stories from the master of the macabre, Edgar Allen Poe. #eBook

Gitanjali: song offerings, a collection of prose translations made by the author from the original Bengali by Rabindranath Tagore ; with an introduction by W.B. Yeats. In this 'Song offerings', Tagore uses modernized images from classical Indian love poetry to symbolize his yearning to merge with the Supreme. So the mudstained traveller, the parched summer earth, the bride awaiting the return of her lord, the first monsoon shower, the flowers, the rivers and the conch are images which gain a mystical depth in these poems. Included in this edition is W.B. Yeats' Introduction to Tagore's English translation of the work.

Christmas in Biafra and Other Poems Poetry about Nigeria, civil war, and the Nigerian-Biafran War by Chinua Achebe.

Poems and Prose of Mihai Eminescu This new edition of poems and prose by Mihai Eminescu commemorates the 130th anniversary of the death of Romania's national poet. This book includes a selection of the best English-language renditions of poems and prose by this remarkable cultural figure of the nineteenth-century, whom the British writer George Bernard Shaw once referred to as “the Moldavian who raised the XVIII-XIX fin de siècle from its grave.” It is undeniable that to have an appreciation of Romanian culture one must become acquainted with the works of Mihai Eminescu. The leading cultural figure of nineteenth century Romania, Eminescu (1850-1889) was not only a poet, but also a philosopher, prose writer, translator, and journalist. The selections in this volume include English language versions of some of Eminescu's best-known poems such as Doina, Lacul,?i daca, Luceafarul, Oda (în metru antic), Mai am un singur dor, Scrisoarea III, and many others. It also includes English versions of his most important prose writings. This beautiful, deluxe volume also includes an introduction on the life and work of Eminescu by A.K. Brackob and original artwork by Ioana Lupu'oru. #eBook