Libraries: Google vs Library: Videos

Google vs Library Quick Poll

For a college course, the best video sources

Google vs Library Quick Poll

Are fun to watch and entertaining.

Provide authoritative information.

Help me understand the course material.

Are available anywhere, anytime, on any device.

Are fun to watch and entertaining.: 0 votes (0%)

Provide authoritative information.: 1 votes (16.67%)

Help me understand the course material.: 4 votes (66.67%)

Are available anywhere, anytime, on any device.: 1 votes (16.67%)

Total Votes: 6

Videos: Google vs Library

The HCC Libraries try to provide videos and other materials that are exactly what you need for your HCC classes. While you're a student at HCC, these materials are provided to you free of charge.

With NBCLearn, Alexander Street Video and other subscriptions we pay for, we are able to provide high quality content that is directly related to the curricula at HCCS.

Streaming Media

Alexander Street Video
Streaming videos representing a wide range of disciplines and topics, fully searchable. Users can create retrievable clips and playlists. Most videos come with a complete transcript. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide for help with the interface, embedding, and playlists.

Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
Ambrose Video
Educational videos in the collection including timely science and history topics. New releases include: Career Decisions: Physical Therapy, The Neuroscience of Addiction Extended Interviews, Behavioral Science, AP Human Geography, Great Directors, Great Authors of the British Isles and Great Irish Authors. Ambrose Video has BBC Classics, such as BBC Shakespeare Plays, James Burkes' Connections, Ascent of Man and more. Educational video content designed with clips that target the needs of educators using new digital delivery in the classroom!
*****Coming soon! The HCC Libraries will soon be switching our off-campus login method for our databases and other electronic resources to OpenAthens! You can try this out by using this database resource from its new OpenAthens link. If you experience any issues with off-campus access using this new link, please contact Librarian Jennifer Stidham and let her know! If you'd like to learn more about this change, check out our OpenAthens guide!
Annenberg Media
Free streaming video series on most subjects for use by life-long learners.
Dance from Alexander Street
Dance from Alexander Street contains hundreds of hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Docuseek2
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges, universities and K-12 schools, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Ethnographic Video Online
The Ethnographic Video Online collections provide the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior - more than 2000 hours and 2,400 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Kanopy Streaming
Videos requested by HCC professors for use in the classroom.
WGBH Open Vault
On this website, GBH Archives provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station GBH. Open Vault contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.