Libraries: Music: Databases

Music Databases

Alexander Street Video
Streaming videos representing a wide range of disciplines and topics, fully searchable. Users can create retrievable clips and playlists. Most videos come with a complete transcript. See the Academic Video Online LibGuide for help with the interface, embedding, and playlists.
Technical Note - Permanent Links and Embed codes in Alexander Street Video's collections do not function as expected. This has been reported to the vendor, who is aware of the issue.

A workaround exists that involves replacing the term "proquest" in the URL string with "alexanderstreet" instead. As an example, the generated permanent link for a Alexander Street video may look like:

https://0-search-proquest-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

By replacing the term "proquest" above with "alexanderstreet," the permanent link would then look like:

https://0-search-alexanderstreet-com.librus.hccs.edu/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%123456

and should function as expected. The newly altered link or embed code should then allow off-campus access to valid users.
AllMusic
"AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love. Songs and clips are available."
American Popular Songs
Over 4,700 pieces of sheet music from the New York Public Library digital archives. All are available in the public domain. The viewer is easy to use and all sheet music can be printed.
EBSCO eBook Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Removes access barriers with hundreds of thousands of DRM-free options that can easily be read on any device.
Watch a Video Tutorial or view the EBSCO eBook Guide.
Europeana Collections
"Explore 58,207,016 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives."
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
Ideal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Grove Music Online
An extensive encyclopedia of music. (Full-text)
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Petrucci Music Library
Public Domain Music
National Jukebox
"Historic recordings from the Library of Congress ... makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives."
Notated Music
Access over 97,000 items available online via the Library of Congress.
Oxford Music Online
An extensive encyclopedia of music, featuring over 51,000 articles from Bach to Beyonce, and continual updates, reviews and contributions from over 9,000 scholars around the globe. (Full-text)
Learn more about searching Oxford Music Online with the video below -

Music

Open Access Databases

Music Databases

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report