American Archive of Public Broadcasting
"The Library of Congress and GBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American people have made a huge investment in public radio and television over many decades, calculated at more than $10 billion. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations."
Directory of Open Access Books
Large collection of open access books, made available by academic publishers such as Springer and Brill.
Directory of Open Access Journals
List of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly online journals. Covers journals for all subjects, in all languages. (Full text)
Figshare
Discover research archived by institutions and by individuals. Use the search box at the top of the window to locate research on your subject.
Free to Use and Reuse Sets
This page features items from the Library of Congress digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme.
Hathi Trust
"Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests."
IMDb (Internet Movie Database)
"Launched online in 1990 and a subsidiary of Amazon.com since 1998, IMDb is the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content, designed to help fans explore the world of movies and shows and decide what to watch." Use this link to find your way around.
MERLOT
"MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."
Media History Digital Library
"A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound."
TED Talks
About TED. TED is a nonpartisan nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks. TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 110 languages.
