Eagle Library Search (ELS)
Eagle Library Search, or ELS, is a discovery tool used to comb through many of our databases simultaneously rather than individually. It does a good job of casting a wide net, but cannot capture every item we own or provide access. It's a great starting point, but we recommend that students also explore individual databases in their research journey. Students can always find the ELS box on the library's homepage.
Recommended HCC Library Databases for Current Events Research
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. Viewpoint articles cover issues from many perspectives, beyond pro and con. Users can dive deeper with periodical content that covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Viewpoints are collected from the opinion sections of a variety of published sources, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, The American Conservative, and National Review.
-
NewsBank
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of national, Texas, and Houston-area newspaper titles, blogs, television broadcast transcripts and more. The digital edition of the Houston Chronicle is available from 10/24/2017-present and the text format is available for issues as far back as 1985. Local weekly publications in digital format from around the Houston area that are usually folded into the Houston Chronicle are included with available dates ranging from 10/31/2018-present.
*****Coming soon! The HCC Libraries will soon be switching our off-campus login method for our databases and other electronic resources to OpenAthens! You can try this out by using this database resource from its new OpenAthens link. If you experience any issues with off-campus access using this new link, please contact Librarian Jennifer Stidham and let her know! If you'd like to learn more about this change, check out our OpenAthens guide!
-
SIRS Issues Researcher
A suite of databases providing access to periodical articles, reference materials, pictures, government documents, and selected Internet sites, related to a wide range of topics. (Full-text)
Not working from on-campus? Click the alternate link for SIRS Issues Researcher here.
-
Basic Library Searching
This is a pre-recorded video on how to perform Boolean searches in Eagle Library Search and navigate topical databases like Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints to find popular, scholarly, and multimedia sources for research. The interfaces are explained with common filters and helpful tools for downloading, sharing, linking, and citing.
