Libraries: Criminal Justice: Relevant Databases

Eagle Library Search (ELS)

Eagle Library Search, or ELS, is a discovery tool used to comb through many of our databases simultaneously rather than individually. It does a good job of casting a wide net, but cannot capture every item we own or may access. It's a great starting point, but we recommend that students also explore individual databases in their research journey. Students can always find the ELS box on the library's homepage.

Relevant HCC Library Databases for Criminal Justice Research

This database list is not exhaustive, but it is relevant and reliable.

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, astronomy, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, science, geography, law, mathematics, music, health sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields.
American National Biography Online
Reference biographies of men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States, with illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and search and browse capabilities.
Digital Commons
"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Directory of Open Access Books
Large collection of open access books, made available by academic publishers such as Springer and Brill.
EBSCO eBook Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Removes access barriers with hundreds of thousands of DRM-free options that can easily be read on any device.
Federal Bureau of Investigation-Uniform Crime Reports
A heavily-cited source for United States crime statistics
Gale Academic OneFile
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Gale LegalForms
Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
more...less...
Alternate Name(s) InfoTrac Criminal Justice Collection
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.

JSTOR
Includes articles from hundreds of scholarly research journals covering a wide range of academic fields. Coverage is always from volume 1, issue 1, but usually does not include the most recent three years.
Legal Collection
Provides full text for nearly 250 scholarly law journals.
Mometrix eLibrary
Mometrix provides unofficial test preparation products for a variety of examination types for different career paths. It includes resources such as study guides, practice tests and answer banks, and test preparation tips.
more...less...
If you see a Bad Gateway error from on-campus, try copying and pasting this link: https://portal.mometrixelibrary.com
Newsbank
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
more...less...
Alternate Name(s): America's News --Historical and Current or our former trial access to Access World News, which is now ended.
Project Muse
This multi-purpose database offers the full text of over 300 scholarly journals covering the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Find credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources, to support every program at HCC. Be sure to click the facet for HCC-owned and subscribed items. Many chapters can be downloaded DRM-free.
ProQuest Research Library
A general purpose database that includes the full text of many magazines and journals from a number of fields and disciplines. Good for popular, current event, opinion-oriented, practical, and how-to topics.
Vocational and Career Collection
Provides the contents of more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Basic Library Searching
This is a pre-recorded video on how to perform Boolean searches in Eagle Library Search and navigate topical databases like Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints to find popular, scholarly, and multimedia sources for research. The interfaces are explained with common filters and helpful tools for downloading, sharing, linking, and citing.

HCC Library Database Searching Quick Guide
This document helps students understand the basics of building simple or intermediate search strings to perform research in the library's databases.

Featured Website

Crime Gun Intelligence Centers
The National Crime Gun Intelligence Center Initiative supports local multidisciplinary teams in their efforts to prevent violent crime by identifying perpetrators, linking criminal activities, and identifying sources of crime guns for immediate disruption, investigation, and prosecution.

These efforts and others are all components of Crime Gun Intelligence Centers (CGICs), an innovative and collaborative concept developed by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF).

Criminal Justice: Relevant Databases

Eagle Library Search (ELS)

Relevant HCC Library Databases for Criminal Justice Research

Featured Website

About Us

Statistics

Follow us

Report